Listen free for 30 days

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

The Night Raven is the first book in Crow Investigations, an exciting new paranormal mystery series from best-selling author of magical fiction, Sarah Painter. 

Lydia has always known she has no power, especially next to her infamous and more-than-slightly dodgy family. Which is why she carved her own life as a private investigator far away from London. When a professional snafu forces her home, the head of the family calls in a favour, and Lydia finds herself investigating the disappearance of her cousin, Maddie. 

Soon, Lydia is neck-deep in problems: her new flatmate is a homicidal ghost, the intriguing, but forbidden, DCI Fleet is acting in a distinctly unprofessional manner, and tensions between the old magical families are rising. For 75 years, a truce between the four families has held strong, but could the disappearance of Maddie Crow be the thing to break it?

©2019 Sarah Painter (P)2019 W. F. Howes Ltd

Critic reviews

“My favourite new urban fantasy series, clever and twisty and deliciously magical, with a shivery sense of wonder that feels utterly grounded in its London setting. Perfect for fans of Ben Aaronovitch, Genevieve Cogman or Robert Galbraith!” (Stephanie Burgis, author of Masks and Shadows)

What listeners say about The Night Raven

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    57
  • 4 Stars
    40
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    3
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    58
  • 4 Stars
    30
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    3
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    48
  • 4 Stars
    34
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    4

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Interesting story

Loved it, good story. The narration was soothing.,this was my first audible and it has me hooked

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Enjoyable listen

Really enjoyed this book, so much so that I have just bought the next 2 in the series. I get where others are coming from with comments on the dialogue being young but the main character is early 20s so I think it fits perfectly with her character. There is a time and a place for overly wordy texts and these simple but enjoyable adventure books is not the place. I think the author has it right and it adds to the enjoyment of listening to the story. Listen to this book if you enjoy walking away from the rigors of real life, love the idea of going on adventures with characters you will come to care about and enjoy.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great start

This is a great start to a new series. Interesting premise and I look forward to seeing where the main character goes next.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Promising

A quirky and interesting listen, well read. Put me in mind of an urban Oxford Tea Room mystery only urbann with a dash of magic 😊

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

No intrigue for me

Really struggled to finish this, no where near as intriguing as the premise suggests unfortunately. Felt like a set up for another story where something interesting might actually happen?

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

great read

Good story, well read. Engaging and entertaining. Can't wait for the next one in the series

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

A promising start

I wasn’t blown away by this, the mystery element to it wasn’t all that gripping. However I’ve given it a good rating because the characterisation and world building makes for an interesting premise and I think following books (with more dramatic or intricate mysteries) will be great.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Enjoyable story

Looking forward to listening to more adventures of Lydia Crow and how she uses her hidden skills.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good Read

A nice and easy read with a well developed main character and fun and interesting storyline.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Very Enjoyable

A little bit of mystery and intrigue, a little bit of comedy, and some excellently written hot chemistry between Lydia and the DCI Fleet. A great book with a bit of everything and a fabulous narrator to boot! Just off to buy the next two in the series...

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ijw
  • Ijw
  • 21-10-19

Ask yourself

Our heroine talks a tough game but doesn't stand up for herself. Why doesn't she tell her uncle that she must have a secure door with a security system and surveillance right off the bat ? Because it would eliminate half the book. So consider if you want to spend hours with dysfunctional family, dysfunctional exes and dysfunctional enemies? If you think that's fun read on.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Greg
  • Greg
  • 05-03-20

Great start, uh finish

So the start of this book felt very cool. The narrator did a great job, adding depth to the story. The beginning had grit. The beginning felt like it could anywhere. The beginning was about the old good part of this book. In hindsight, I think the whole book was a lead in to the tryst with the copper...because it just ends shortly after. With all the setup and background I was expecting some cool revelation....and all I got was eh. Is it worth a credit...well the beginning is, the ending isn't.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for M. Barker
  • M. Barker
  • 24-10-19

A good and entertaining time

Good fun. The characterizations are accurate. Entertaining plot. Made me curious where the author would take it in future volumes.

1 person found this helpful