Listen free for 30 days

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

The first book in a brand new World War II saga series. Perfect for fans of Ellie Dean and Annie Groves.

Dover, 1939.

At the heart of Dover's Market Square lies the Castle's Café. A bustling, homely place run by the formidable Nellie Castle and her six children. 

Since the scandalous birth of her beloved son 10 years before, Marianne, Nellie's eldest daughter, has preferred to stay in the kitchen, hidden away from the scrutiny of the town gossips. Overcome with shame, Marianne has never revealed the name of Donny's father - not even to her own mother. 

But with World War II just around the corner, Marianne's past catches up with her. And suddenly the lives of the Castle family become a lot more complicated. 

Will the secrets from her past destroy their future?

©2020 Ginny Bell (P)2020 Bonnier Books Ltd

What listeners say about The Dover Cafe at War

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    157
  • 4 Stars
    26
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    148
  • 4 Stars
    19
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    144
  • 4 Stars
    19
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Perfect

Beautifully narrated making it impossible not to want to miss the next chapter.Next book please !

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A brilliant tale of WW2 Dover

Not the usual sort of book I read but, living near Dover, I thought it might be a nice change. It was! I thoroughly enjoyed it from beginning to end. Beautifully narrated too. For someone who normally goes for mystery and suspense and all the violence and gore that goes with those categories, this really was a refreshing change. I looked to see what else Ginny Bell has written and was pleased to see that a follow-up will be along in 2021. Something to look forward to.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant

I absolutely loved every minute of this book. So disappointed that it has no other in the series fingers crossed that another will be released very soon

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

EXCELLANT!

Loved this book. I was a bit confused with all the six girls names and mother but got used to them. Also I got confused with some of the soldiers and other men's names, but that was just my M.E. though. It is a great book with good research.
The narration is great too. Then I was pleased to find out it is a saga, and there's more.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Irene

What a great story I have really enjoyed it and would recommend to other audio listeners.
Thank you Ginny I will look forward to your next book in 2021.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

great

it's a really good book for a night time listen, or for travel ie plane or train extremely grabbing

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The Dover Cafe at War

This was a beautiful story and the narrator had a lovely smooth, listening voice well worth a listen all characters seemed to come alive. I can highly recommend this book and I can't wait for the sequence.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Dover Cafe

Couldn’t put it down great story very descriptive I felt I knew all the characters.
Great read. 🙏🕎

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

not for grown ups

the narrarion is ok but really not for grown ups maybe ok for junior literature.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great story

this was a great story it's was not what I would usually listen to but I can wait for the next book, please don't take to long 8n writing more please.