Listen free for 30 days

The Dover Cafe at War

Narrated by: Bea Holland
Length: 13 hrs and 4 mins
5 out of 5 stars (25 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

The first book in a brand new World War II saga series. Perfect for fans of Ellie Dean and Annie Groves.

Dover, 1939.

At the heart of Dover's Market Square lies the Castle's Café. A bustling, homely place run by the formidable Nellie Castle and her six children. 

Since the scandalous birth of her beloved son 10 years before, Marianne, Nellie's eldest daughter, has preferred to stay in the kitchen, hidden away from the scrutiny of the town gossips. Overcome with shame, Marianne has never revealed the name of Donny's father - not even to her own mother. 

But with World War II just around the corner, Marianne's past catches up with her. And suddenly the lives of the Castle family become a lot more complicated. 

Will the secrets from her past destroy their future?

©2020 Ginny Bell (P)2020 Bonnier Books Ltd

What listeners say about The Dover Cafe at War

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    23
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    21
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    22
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Perfect

Beautifully narrated making it impossible not to want to miss the next chapter.Next book please !

1 person found this helpful