Listen free for 30 days

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Take to the skies in this thrilling new series from author Alex English. (Beware: there will be pirates!)

Eleven-year-old Echo Quickthorn has grown up believing that nothing exists outside the Kingdom of Lockfort, but everything changes when an eccentric professor parks his airship outside her window armed with a map that shows all the magical places that exist beyond the city walls. 

Together with her pet lizard, Gilbert, Echo sets off on an incredible adventure to find her missing mother, an adventure that will take her to unimaginable places, places filled with giant butterflies, mechanical dragons and...sky pirates!

©2020 Alex English (P)2020 Simon & Schuster UK

Critic reviews

"A spirited protagonist, a charming side-kick and a believable villain come together in this tightly plotted, visual, treat for the senses. I want to soar over the rainbow rooftops of Port Tourbillon and the toadstooled forests of Tyrian in my very own airship." (Nizrana Farook, author of The Girl Who Stole an Elephant)

"A charmingly madcap adventure, with endearing friendships, sparkling wit, and a swashbuckling journey across pirate-infested skies. I loved it. Perfect for fans of Nevermoor and Cogheart." (Hana Tooke, author of The Unadoptables

"A breath-taking adventure and a wonderfully imagined story of friendship and danger in strange places." (Claire Fayers, author of The Voyage to Magical North)

What listeners say about Sky Pirates

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic adventure!

Loved the adventure within Lockfort and beyond with it's many twists and turns along the way. A wonderful array of characters that I really rooted for, and I had a special fondness for Gilbert. Absolutely loved it!