Listen free for 30 days

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Filled with mystery and Southern Black Girl Magic, Tracy Deonn’s New York Times bestselling Legendborn offers the dark allure of City of Bones with a modern-day twist on a classic legend. This is an explosive fantasy debut that's perfect for fans of Cassandra Clare, Leigh Bardugo, Sarah J. Maas and Cinderella is Dead!

Some legacies are meant to be broken.

After her mother dies in an accident, sixteen-year-old Bree Matthews wants to escape. A residential programme for bright high-schoolers seems like the perfect opportunity – until she witnesses a magical attack her very first night on campus....

A flying demon feeding on human energies.

A secret society of so-called 'Legendborn' that hunt the creatures down.

A mysterious mage who calls himself a 'Merlin' and who attempts – and fails – to wipe Bree’s memory of everything she saw.

The mage’s failure unlocks Bree’s own unique magic and a buried memory about her mother. Now Bree will do whatever it takes to discover the truth, even infiltrate the Legendborn. But when the Legendborn reveal themselves as the descendants of King Arthur’s knights and foretell a magical war, Bree must decide how far she’ll go for the truth. Should she use her magic to take the society down – or join the fight?

Winner of the Coretta Scott King – John Steptoe for New Talent Author Award.

©2020 Tracy Deonn Walker (P)2020 Simon & Schuster UK

What listeners say about Legendborn

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    77
  • 4 Stars
    35
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    76
  • 4 Stars
    27
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    67
  • 4 Stars
    34
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Read this if you love fantasy

Amazing - the new and improved throne of glass and shadowhunters!!!!!! Read this it is fantastic

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great find!

I never expected the storyline to go where it did, can't wait for the next!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant!

Brest book I’ve listened to! Couldn’t stop listening to it so I definitely recommend to buy!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Good plot twist.

Engaging throughout. Looking forward to part 2 and where the story leads. This felt like just a taster.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

give it time

this is a complex story arc that takes time to get going, but it is worth the initial perseverance. A reinterpreting of Arthurian legend to include the fright with demons and magic. a good original story that is well performed I will be getting the next installment.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

The final plot twist killed it for me

The narrator did a great job.
While it took a while for me to get into the story, I did enjoy it a great deal. Right up until the end where the climax had me rolling my eyes so hard I couldn't enjoy the last hour or so.
The story is juvenile, but touches on some great themes and Bree's character really sucked me in. Her story was compelling and I felt her emotions almost as if they were my own.
Unfortunately, the author just couldn't resist making the main character the most important thing in the world. It ruined the story for me. But if you don't mind the whole chosen one theme, this is sure to be an enjoyable, compelling bit of escapism.
For me though, I'm just so tired of the main character being all the things. I won't be looking for the next book in this series.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Refreshing & could not put it down

It was great to read the genre I enjoy from a different perspective and with a history that is not very often highlighted even in today's society. I was captivated from the beginning and rolled through emotions with the characters, with lol moments and even tearing up at others.

I'm not going to give the story away. I clicked quite early on, on a main plot twist and was pleased to find there was more.

I often preread books for my daughter as I have found some YA books are really more aimed at the higher age range and not appropriate. I loved this book and will be passing on to my daughter.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

The End - what happened?

Well thought out story, written quite well, with some interesting characters. Light escapism but ends as a serial, anticipating another rather long book?

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Amazing!

Captivating!
The way that the words were spoken and written, pulled me in to the story, made it hard for me to finish the book! The narrator was incredible and helped to mould this book into life! Wow. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone that loves a bit of YA fantasy. Amazing

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Idk how i feel about it

Not the best tbh
Loved the narrator
Overall ok
Looking forward to the next book

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Fantasy sci-fi listens
  • Fantasy sci-fi listens
  • 21-05-21

Unpopular opinion

So this story definitely has so much potential, but firstly the narration... the main character’s voice was great, but the story stated that most of the other characters weren’t her ethnicity yet the narrator made them all sound similar to the main characters accent so didn’t match up with the storyline. Secondly I felt like the main character was whining and not a strong character so inherently I already disliked her personality... I stuck with the story to see if there would be an improvement and there was but not by much aside from the physical powers the personality didn’t develop much. This was recommended to me and I liked the main character being African American but I felt the story kept digressing to her race constantly and I feel some of that was great but too much just distracted from the story I wanted a supernatural story with a kick ass main female protagonist which is t really what I got. Maybe the harsh review is partly because I felt the story just didn’t live up to the hype. I would definitely try future books by this author and narrator just that this one didn’t do it for me.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for R. Mohapi
  • R. Mohapi
  • 21-04-21

Amazing narration and captivating story

Joniece Abbott-Pratt brings an already beautiful story to life. Her style brings depth to each character.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for the author
  • the author
  • 25-01-21

Excellent. Must read.

I don’t often review. Overall, an excellent listen. Highly recommended.

The writing and story is excellent. The main character is instantly relatable and you root for her from the get go. The author has a turn of phrase that is impactful (it is a study in great writing) and kept me gripped in the first quarter of the book, then the plot kicks up a gear and keeps you gripped the rest of the way. I was gripped from start to finish and finished it almost in one go.

The book deals with race issues (it’s not the main thing) that ordinarily I would not be interested in, but does so without being heavy-handed or preachy, which won me over.

I don’t know why audible recommends so many bad books to me. This is a hidden gem that I discovered from a booktuber, Merphy Napier. (Check out the international Audible reviews as well.) After all the boring PC crap Audible recommends, you would think this brilliant book from a black author would be a no-brainer.

The book is based on Arthurian legends — this might have put me off. Don’t let that put you off either.

The only drawback is some narration issues. The narrator is overall a good match for the main character’s voice, though her voicing of white characters was spellbreaking for me. I was looking for the distinctive southern gentleman cadence, but didn’t get it. But in no way should this deter you from what is overall a great listen.