Regular price: £14.49

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
  • Get access to the Member Daily Deal
OR
In Basket

New to Audible?

Your first audiobook is free
£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Adultery, murder and dangerous love collide in Jessie Keane's gritty debut thriller set in London's East End. Perfect for fans of Martina Cole and Lynda La Plante.

For longer than she cares to remember, Annie Bailey has lived in the shadow of her older sister, Ruthie. Now Ruthie has her hands on Max Carter, the much feared head of the Carter family and a top class villain.

Seducing Max wasn't a problem, but the guilt, shame and anger of rejection afterwards was.

Thrown onto the streets, Annie finds herself living with Celia, a wayward aunt with a shocking secret. As the months pass, Annie's resourceful nature sees her mature and carve out a life for herself, albeit not legal. But if you play with fire, you can expect to get burned, and her lavish new lifestyle and connections may be about to come crashing down around her.

Annie has unwittingly placed herself between two rival gangs and upset too many people, and these kind of people don't forget. But as everyone knows, Annie Bailey is no ordinary woman.

©2009 Jessie Keane (P)2017 HarperCollins Publishers

Critic reviews

Praise for Jessie Keane:
"This is a riveting story, with gutsy, gritty characters and a genuine feel for the period." ( Books Monthly)
"Perfect for fans of Martina Cole and Lynda La Plante." ( Glamour)
"Gritty and powerful, Martina Cole fans will love this addictive novel." ( Closer)

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    34
  • 4 Stars
    15
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    32
  • 4 Stars
    9
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    3

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    31
  • 4 Stars
    11
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good read

enjoyed this book good listening whilst doing the house work will read another or two of her books

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

fab story..

i really enjoyed the book although it took a while to take to the narrator.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Very disappointing

Excellent story. Really poor narrator!!! Spoilt the enjoyment of the of the book not worth the credit.