Listen free for 30 days

Come and Find Me

DI Marnie Rome, Book 5
Narrated by: Imogen Church
Series: D.I. Marnie Rome, Book 5
Length: 12 hrs and 54 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (60 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Gripping, tense, twisty and full of emotional insight, Come and Find Me is the fifth book in Sarah Hilary's Marnie Rome series, for fans of Mick Herron or Clare Mackintosh. 

On the surface, Lara Chorley and Ruth Hull have nothing in common, other than their infatuation with Michael Vokey. Each is writing to a sadistic inmate, sharing her secrets, whispering her worst fears, craving his attention. 

DI Marnie Rome understands obsession. She's finding it hard to give up her own addiction to a dangerous man: her foster brother, Stephen Keele. She wasn't able to save her parents from Stephen. She lives with that guilt every day. As the hunt for Vokey gathers pace, Marnie fears one of the women may have found him - and is about to pay the ultimate price. 

©2018 Sarah Hilary (P)2018 Headline Publishing Group Ltd.

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    36
  • 4 Stars
    13
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    39
  • 4 Stars
    13
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    33
  • 4 Stars
    14
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Another great novel by Sarah Hilary.

Another brilliant Marnie Rome book from the wonderful Sarah Hilary. The rawness, storyline and characters yet again were enticing. Imogen Church's performance again was 10/10. However, I found that I didn't connect with this case as much as the rest, in places I didn't know where it was going, or what was going on. I didn't find it as finely tuned as the rest. However, still very enjoyable. Can't wait for the next one, which I've preordered.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Incredible twists and turns

Sarah Hilary you have done it again, started off as a slow burn and just when you thought you guessed the plot curveballs appear. I highly recommend this book and I suggest it’s a book to be read without distractions as you may miss some subtle elements to the plot. There is definitely more to come with Di Marnie Rome and DS Jake my favourite combination. What becomes of Marnie’s Achilles heel her adopted brother Stephen who committed a heinous crime that affected her personally or did he? Brilliant Sarah. I loved the performance of Imogen Church.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Rozzi
  • Leicester
  • 20-04-18

Brilliant

These Marnie Rome stories are so good. This is an unusual twisty detective plot with a challenging puzzle to solve. While delivering all that, Sarah Hillary also plays with experienced crime fiction readers’ expectations of the genre and adds layers of character and ongoing story lines worthy of literary fiction.
The narrator is excellent too, much improved since the last review I wrote of her, she now does voices as well or better than anyone. A pleasure to listen to.
Thank you both, I can’t wait for the next book.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Disappointing

I’ve loved the rest of this series of books but this one left me feeling disappointed. The plot seemed to lose its way about a third of the way in and I struggled to carry on. There was much less about Marnie and Noah and more about trying to make the story as convoluted and protracted as possible. The narrator was excellent as always.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful