We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
When It's a Jar Audiobook

When It's a Jar

Regular Price:£16.99
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • £7.99/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Maurice has just killed a dragon with a breadknife. And had his destiny foretold...and had his true love spirited away. That's precisely the sort of stuff that'd bring out the latent heroism in anyone. Unfortunately, Maurice is pretty sure he hasn't got any latent heroism.

Meanwhile, a man wakes up in a jar in a different kind of pickle (figuratively speaking). He can't get out, of course, but neither can he remember his name, or what gravity is, or what those things on the ends on his legs are called...and every time he starts working it all out, someone makes him forget again. Forget everything. Only one thing might help him. The answer to the most baffling question of all. When Is A Door Not A Door?

An absurdly witty novel of alternate universes and very unlikely heroes from one of Britain's best-loved comic writers - perfect for fans of Douglas Adams and Terry Pratchett

©2013 One Reluctant Lemming Co. Ltd (P)2013 Hachette Audio

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.0 (66 )
5 star
 (27)
4 star
 (24)
3 star
 (9)
2 star
 (3)
1 star
 (3)
Overall
3.9 (61 )
5 star
 (25)
4 star
 (17)
3 star
 (8)
2 star
 (7)
1 star
 (4)
Story
4.3 (63 )
5 star
 (37)
4 star
 (16)
3 star
 (6)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (3)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Rosemary White 04/01/2014
    Rosemary White 04/01/2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    103
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    583
    51
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    2
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Something for insomniacs."

    Sadly this book drones on and on and is not helped by the narrator's annoying voice characterisations. You could doze off halfway though and not notice the gap in the story.

    The book before this, "Doughnut", was not as good as its predecessors and in this book references are made to it, previous stories and said doughnuts and their function, but I think Tom Holt could rejig his usually startling imagination.

    His ironic style is still in evidence and there are some wonderful one-liners, but the story moves so very slowly, like a tired snail attempting to scale the summit of a cell-phone repeater tower when the drizzle fades leaving the gastropod stuck halfway up, the clouds are evaporating, the dehydrating summer sun is beginning to beat down and it thinks to itself (in Ray Sawyer's annoying nasal twang) "I should have listened to my gran when she said "You are no Edmund Hillary, don't do it even if it IS there!", (actually my snail is more interesting than the wretched "hero" of Tom's book!).

    I first encountered Tom Holt when I bought "Of Life, Liberty And The Pursuit Of Sausages" then "The Portable Door", I found both highly entertaining, original and worth recommending. "Barking"and "In Your Dreams" were quite good too.

    Unfortunately this book is neither original nor entertaining and I shall "return" it.

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Haydn 27/05/2014
    Haydn 27/05/2014 Member Since 2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    8
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    30
    22
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Holt Evolution"
    What did you like most about When It's a Jar?

    Its a continuation of the You Space story and very Holt, especially how believable the paralel worlds are.


    Would you recommend When It's a Jar to your friends? Why or why not?

    Very Holt and full of believable twists but a bit complex, looses its way a little and misses the humour of other Holt work which I would recommend first.


    What three words best describe Ray Sawyer’s voice?

    Clear. Good characterization.


    If you made a film of this book, what would be the tag line be?

    Discworld meets our world.


    Any additional comments?

    Glad I read it and a big Holt fan.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer 20/05/2016

    IrenicR

    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    97
    6
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "As good as expected"

    You do need to concentrate to remember who is whete. But well worth it

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    lindz brewer 09/08/2015
    lindz brewer 09/08/2015 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    5
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "awesome"

    The problem with Tom Holt's books is once you have finished listening to it your desperate for more even though it's 3am cats yowling for food and your mental to go to work in a couple of hours. !
    can't recommend enough yawn

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Martyn. R. Winters Cardiff UK 30/04/2015
    Martyn. R. Winters Cardiff UK 30/04/2015 Member Since 2011

    A reader of science fiction and other speculative musings for more than 40 years, I'm most fond of the grand themes found in space opera.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    16
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    61
    33
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Funnier than just about anything"

    Imagine a 4x4 driver whizzing into a carpark at their usual high speed. They collide with something solid and immovable, spilling their skinny latte all over their iPhone 6. This novel is even funnier than that.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    S. Malvik london, uk 06/01/2014
    S. Malvik london, uk 06/01/2014 Member Since 2014

    solveigmalvik

    HELPFUL VOTES
    12
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    32
    10
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "trying too hard"
    Would you try another book written by Tom Holt or narrated by Ray Sawyer?

    Maybe by the narrator, but probably not by Tom Holt


    Would you ever listen to anything by Tom Holt again?

    No


    How could the performance have been better?

    The narrator was great, no issues with him


    You didn’t love this book--but did it have any redeeming qualities?

    No


    Any additional comments?

    The book tried too hard to be funny, in the end ended up disjointed, not funny and not really making sense. I love Douglas Adams, I love Terry Pratchett, I love Haruki Murakami, all disjointed books that challenge reality, but they succeed. This book - horrible.

    2 of 4 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.