Charlotte Charlie Cates

2 books in series
4 out of 5 stars 8 ratings

The Gates of Evangeline Summary

For fans of Tana French and Gillian Flynn, The Gates of Evangeline is the addictive first book in a fantastic new crime series that will have you guessing until the very end.

When grieving mother and New York journalist Charlie Cates begins to experience vivid dreams about children after her only son passes away, she’s sure that she’s lost her mind. Yet she soon realizes these are not the hallucinations of a bereaved mother. They are messages and warnings that will help Charlie and the children she sees - if she can make sense of them.

The disturbing images lead her from her home in suburban New York City to small-town Louisiana, where she takes a commission to write a true-crime book based on the case of Gabriel Deveau, the young heir to a wealthy and infamous Southern family, whose kidnapping 30 years ago has never been solved.

There she meets the Deveau family, none of whom is telling the full truth about the night Gabriel disappeared. And as she uncovers long-buried secrets of love, money, betrayal and murder, the facts begin to implicate those she most wants to trust, and her visions reveal an evil closer than she could have imagined.

©2015 Hester Young (P)2015 Random House Audiobooks
Show More Show Less

Not an Audible member?

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
  • Book 1

    Regular price: £23.99

  • Book 2

    The Shimmering Road cover art
    Not Available on