Listen free for 30 days

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

From the author of A Room Full of Chocolate comes a heartwarming story about identity and courage and a tremendous young girl who cares for her alcoholic mother. For fans of Jacqueline Wilson and Sarah Lean.

Nell Hobson lives with a tortoise called Bob Marley, guinea pigs Asbo and Chaos, goldfish Beyoncé and Destiny, gerbils Fiz and Tyrone, Aunty Lou the Hamster...and her mum, who drinks too much. Nell does everything she can to be a good daughter so that her mum will stop. But when things get really hard, Nell stands on her head. Everything looks better upside down, don't you know?

Nell wishes she knew who her dad was. When new teacher Mr Samuels makes history come alive and tells the class the story of Nell Gwynn, the Orange Girl who became one of the first actresses on the London stage, Nell is captivated and is determined to dress up as an Orange Girl for the Costume Parade. She hatches a plan with her best friend, Michael: a way to make her dad step forward and claim her. Will she succeed?

A charming middle grade story with a strong, positive message that celebrates community and friendship.

©2018 Jane Elson (P)2018 W. F. Howes Ltd

What listeners say about Will You Catch Me?

Average customer ratings

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.