Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £18.29

Buy Now for £18.29

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

When darks secrets surface the living must pay

Inspector Fenella Sallow is haunted by her past and obsessive about the truth…no matter how painful. 

When a body is found on an isolated footbridge in the scenic village of St. Bees, Fenella must piece together the events that lead to the grizzly death. All evidence points to a murder by the escaped serial killer dubbed "Mr. Shred". 

As the investigation heats up, Fenella and her team discover a world darker than most can imagine. And it soon becomes clear the killer is determined to teach the police a lesson. 

With time running out, Fenella and her team engage in a deadly cat and mouse game that could cost more than her career. Can she solve the case before another victim dies, or will Mr. Shred vanish like a ghost, just like he did from prison? 

Set against the backdrop of beautiful coastal Cumbria, an ancient land of legend, folklore, and myth, Whispered Bones is the second book in the Detective Inspector Fenella Sallow series.  

This riveting crime thriller will keep you hooked until the very end. If you like police procedurals with psychologically complex characters and shocking twists, then you’ll love Whispered Bones.

Perfect for fans of L.J. Ross, J.D. Kirk, Simon McCleave, Stuart MacBride, Matt Brolly, Angela Marsons, Alex Smith, J.M. Dalgliesh, J.E. Mayhew, David J. Gatward, Damien Boyd, T.G. Reid, Jack Gatland, Robert F. Barker, and J.R. Ellis.

©2021 N.C. Lewis (P)2022 N.C. Lewis

More from the same

What listeners say about Whispered Bones

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Donna
  • Donna
  • 16-03-22

4

Tricky, tricky. The author just started the book.
I just got sucked in. I think of this as good
writing. :-) Fine characters, well plotted and a real pagecturner.