Regular price: £23.99

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
OR
In Basket

Summary

Random House presents the audiobook edition of Where the Light Gets In by Lucy Dillon, read by Karen Cass.

'You know those cracks in your heart, Lorna, where things didn’t work out, but you picked yourself up and carried on? That’s where the fear gets out. And where the light gets in.'

It was Betty, defiant to the end, who sent Lorna back to Longhampton. If Lorna’s learned one thing from Betty, it’s that courage is something you paint on like red lipstick, even when you’re panicking inside. And right now, with the keys to the town’s gallery in her hand, Lorna feels about as courageous as Betty’s anxious little dachshund trembling beside her.

Lorna’s come home to Longhampton to fulfil a long-held dream, but she knows deep down there are ghosts she needs to lay to rest first. This is where her tight-knit family shattered into silent pieces. It’s where her unspoken fears about herself took root and where her own secret, complicated love began. It’s not exactly a fresh start.

But as Lorna - and the little dog - tentatively open their cracked hearts to old friends and new ones, facing hard truths and fresh promises, something surprisingly beautiful begins to grow around the gallery, something so inspirational even Lorna couldn’t have predicted the light it lets into her world....

An inspiring, life-enhancing novel that will make you see your life afresh.... Fans of Jojo Moyes, Lucy Diamond and Veronica Henry will love it.

©2018 Lucy Dillon (P)2018 Random House Audiobooks

Critic reviews

Praise for Lucy Dillon: "Bittersweet, lovely and ultimately redemptive; the kind of book that makes you want to live your own life better." (Jojo Moyes)

"This vibrant and uplifting novel has not only entertained me hugely, but made me change the way I look at life." (Katie Fforde)

 

"Satisfying and clever and deeply moving." (Sophie Kinsella)

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    69
  • 4 Stars
    26
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    2

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    75
  • 4 Stars
    24
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    65
  • 4 Stars
    20
  • 3 Stars
    15
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    2
Sort by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

A gentle read

A sentimental story, pleasant, but also dealing with some big issues with tact. I enjoyed the cross-generational relationships - you don't get a lot of that in popular fiction.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Charming and gentle, bittersweet as well, it draw

Themes of love and grief, bereavement, and hesitation to really let go into life. Well written with good likeable characters. Very enjoyable if, like me, you are looking for a gentle audiobook experience and not to be horrified, shocked or 'gripped'.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Beautiful and heart warming

A story filled with love, lose, reaching out and hope with more drama for extra measure. The title says it all. A relatable story difficult to stop listening to...but don't take my word for it!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Just wonderful

A beautiful story, and beautifully narrated. Just gorgeous, I couldn't stop listening, and will definitely listen again soon

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Longhampton

Really loved this book. Characters well described, I could easily live in the lives of the characters. Looking forward to read more about this lovely place.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

enthralling

one of Lucy’s best stories. had me laughing and crying all the way to the happy end

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Oh my

I found this story so enthralling and irritating and totally absorbing. It's so hard to write a review without revealing the storyline. Lucy has written something which has reached me in a way I needed. The characters became friends who I sometimes wanted to shake but then I wanted to hug them gently and feel their warmth. The detail is that of an artist; not always obvious but there all the same, creating a full picture of what happens.
Thank you Lucy for letting this story out into the universe.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

A little bit bland

The story dragged. The highlight seemed to be hanging knitted, red apples on a leafless tree. The narrator had a strange habit of high up inflection at the end of nearly every sentence which personally I found annoying. I usually quite warm to this author ‘s writings; so this read was a disappointment for me. It was made worse by the narration.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant

Touching story great book Karen Kass is a brilliant narrator really enjoyed this book 😊

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Mrs O
  • Melksham, United Kingdom
  • 20-06-18

Excellent!

Another great book by Lucy Dillon. Deals well with touching and emotional issues. Highly recommended.