Try an audiobook on us

Where the Light Gets In

Narrated by: Karen Cass
Length: 14 hrs and 10 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (206 ratings)
Regular price: £23.99
£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Random House presents the audiobook edition of Where the Light Gets In by Lucy Dillon, read by Karen Cass.

'You know those cracks in your heart, Lorna, where things didn’t work out, but you picked yourself up and carried on? That’s where the fear gets out. And where the light gets in.'

It was Betty, defiant to the end, who sent Lorna back to Longhampton. If Lorna’s learned one thing from Betty, it’s that courage is something you paint on like red lipstick, even when you’re panicking inside. And right now, with the keys to the town’s gallery in her hand, Lorna feels about as courageous as Betty’s anxious little dachshund trembling beside her.

Lorna’s come home to Longhampton to fulfil a long-held dream, but she knows deep down there are ghosts she needs to lay to rest first. This is where her tight-knit family shattered into silent pieces. It’s where her unspoken fears about herself took root and where her own secret, complicated love began. It’s not exactly a fresh start.

But as Lorna - and the little dog - tentatively open their cracked hearts to old friends and new ones, facing hard truths and fresh promises, something surprisingly beautiful begins to grow around the gallery, something so inspirational even Lorna couldn’t have predicted the light it lets into her world....

An inspiring, life-enhancing novel that will make you see your life afresh.... Fans of Jojo Moyes, Lucy Diamond and Veronica Henry will love it.

©2018 Lucy Dillon (P)2018 Random House Audiobooks

Critic reviews

Praise for Lucy Dillon: "Bittersweet, lovely and ultimately redemptive; the kind of book that makes you want to live your own life better." (Jojo Moyes)

"This vibrant and uplifting novel has not only entertained me hugely, but made me change the way I look at life." (Katie Fforde)

 

"Satisfying and clever and deeply moving." (Sophie Kinsella)

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    133
  • 4 Stars
    53
  • 3 Stars
    12
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    4

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    146
  • 4 Stars
    39
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    122
  • 4 Stars
    44
  • 3 Stars
    18
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    4
Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Charming and gentle, bittersweet as well, it draw

Themes of love and grief, bereavement, and hesitation to really let go into life. Well written with good likeable characters. Very enjoyable if, like me, you are looking for a gentle audiobook experience and not to be horrified, shocked or 'gripped'.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

A gentle read

A sentimental story, pleasant, but also dealing with some big issues with tact. I enjoyed the cross-generational relationships - you don't get a lot of that in popular fiction.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Beautifully written great listen

So enjoyable thank you .
I loved this book!
Beautifully written and narrated.
Warm and engaging ❤️

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant

This is the most lovely story read beautifully br Karen Cass. From the beginning to the end I found it hard to put down. Thank you Lucy Dillon for writing such a wonderful gentle story. The ending I found most touching.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • AD
  • Leics, UK
  • 09-01-19

loved it..tender, heartfilling, strong & emotional

just loved thus intimate, intricate and full of sincere moments of lives captured. Brings an empowering, brave and celebration of vulnerability and passion to live with you.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Really enjoyable

I really enjoy Lucy Dillon’s books and how they very gently overlap. Another lovely story and was pleased to find out how some of the other characters from other books were getting on!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

loved it

a nice relaxing listen.
really nice story with lots of love and some sadness.
mostly about love and loss.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

Great read

Loved this story. Great heartwarming characters. This is the second novel I've read by her. Look forward to reading more from this author.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Just beautiful!

All I have wanted to do is find an excuse to listen to this book... a beautiful story, so well written and read. Absolutely loved it!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

great story, engrossing

loved it, though it made me cry. Found the main characters very likable and human. Lovely message and well read story.