Listen free for 30 days

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

"Narrators Imani Jade Powers and Steve West team up to deliver an emotionally engrossing performance of this YA fantasy...[They] hook listeners from the first page." (AudioFile Magazine

In a city covered in ice and ruin, a group of magicians face off in a daring game of magical feats to find the next headliner of the Conquering Circus, only to find themselves under the threat of an unseen danger striking behind the scenes.

As each act becomes more and more risky and the number of missing magicians piles up, three are forced to reckon with their secrets before the darkness comes for them next.

The Star: Kallia, a powerful showgirl out to prove she’s the best no matter the cost

The Master: Jack, the enigmatic keeper of the club, and more than one lie told

The Magician: Demarco, the brooding judge with a dark past he can no longer hide

Where Dreams Descend is the startling and romantic first audiobook in Janella Angeles’ debut Kingdom of Cards fantasy duology, where magic is both celebrated and feared and no heart is left unscathed.

A Macmillan Audio production from Wednesday Books

"Vibrant imagery, jaw-dropping set pieces, sizzling romantic tension, and unstoppable heroine Kallia bring this ambitious debut novel to spectacular life. Fans of Caraval and The Night Circus will be delighted!" (Claire Legrand, New York Times best-selling author of Furyborn)

"[A] spellbinding melody of a book, and the true magic is how Angeles puts all the best parts of an enrapturing theatrical performance onto paper and ink. From the gripping twists in the first pages all the way to the final, heartbreaking crescendo, Where Dreams Descend will surge you to your feet in a standing ovation." (Sara Raasch, New York Times best-selling author of the Snow Like Ashes trilogy)

©2020 Janella Angeles (P)2020 Macmillan Audio

Critic reviews

"Lavish and opulent in a way that feels warmly familiar yet demands your attention. There are secrets upon secrets, a girl who’s boldly ambitious, and truly riveting stage magic. I didn’t want the show to stop." (Emily A. Duncan, New York Times best-selling author of Wicked Saints)

What listeners say about Where Dreams Descend

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for 🎧AudiobookFiend
  • 🎧AudiobookFiend
  • 29-08-20

Sensational. Spellbinding. Spectacular.

This cannot be a debut... can it?! Masterfully done and absolutely beautifully written. Whenever Shane West is involved, I know I’m going to get one heck of a performance. But I wasn’t expecting so very much as I got from this story by Angeles! ⚖️ Plot: Every chapter was a plot twist wringing my heart out. I am so happy to have taken a chance on this on this book. It’s a series I know I will cherish forever! If there was just one thing I could ask for, it would‘ve been for a slightly faster pace. 🗺 World: the reason the pace though was slower was because so much was invested in painting the most beautiful portrait of each scene. I couldn’t not have asked for more if I tried. This world will not be easily forgotten. 💑 Characters: Kallia is an absolutely fantastic magician and role model. I see a lot of who I am and want to be in her. I connected with her instantly. Both Jack and Darren keep us dangling on a string and that never, ever ends. Even at the very past word. I will surely be gasping for each installment until they are available.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kreads1
  • Kreads1
  • 07-10-20

Wonderful Magical Mystery

Such a wonderful story of magic with very mysterious twists and turns. I quite enjoyed the storyline and the narration was spot on. For me the story was a little slow to start but quickly picked up and I was hooked. I don’t want to say much and give something away but I absolutely can’t wait for the sequel! I have questions that need to be answered.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Valerie D. Pegram
  • Valerie D. Pegram
  • 02-10-20

Very disappointing!!

after reading previous reviews, I was excited about this book and thought it would be a great read! Not!! It kept building and building and each time I was disappointed. No true story line, disappointing characters, basically no real ending!! A really disappointing waste of money and time for me