Listen free for 30 days

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

"A proper mind-blowing page-turner." (Elizabeth Haynes, author)

Eva has made a catastrophic mistake.

Her career is in tatters. By day, she's tormented by tremors, nosebleeds, and blackouts. By night, her violent dreams leave her shaken.

They should. They hold a devastating secret. 

The truth is more terrifying than her nightmares. Confronting it demands an unthinkable choice.

Eva would kill for a baby.

Now, she may have to.

She has six seconds.

Pick one: Your husband? Or your child?

The gripping debut psychological thriller of 2020 with a jaw-dropping twist. For fans of Gone Girl, Before I Go to Sleep, and Behind Her Eyes.

Narrated by the star of stage and screen: Emilia Fox.

©2020 Little Robin Press (P)2020 Little Robin Press

What listeners say about When He's Not Here

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    148
  • 4 Stars
    42
  • 3 Stars
    27
  • 2 Stars
    14
  • 1 Stars
    12
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    152
  • 4 Stars
    30
  • 3 Stars
    25
  • 2 Stars
    8
  • 1 Stars
    6
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    129
  • 4 Stars
    40
  • 3 Stars
    22
  • 2 Stars
    16
  • 1 Stars
    13

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Utterly enthralling!

Put time aside, you wont be able to take long to complete listening to this book! One of the best suspense/thriller books I have ever listened to. Don't be put off by the length, the 14hrs goes quickly. I do have to mention a very odd occurrence (about 5 times in the book) where the same sentence is repeated as the one before - I can only assume its the recording that isn't corrected edited (and I can't believe that has not yet been fixed) as its not a mistake an author would make.
Probably Emilia Fox's best narration!

23 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Horror story

Where to start. No stars if I could.
To begin with this one looked promising. Haven’t not read this author before so thought I had found something new and promising.
The story begins well.......
But omg, I am no prude but I didn’t want the intimate detail of what turned out to be rape. And actually it belittles rape, and is described in every detail just for the sexual thrill....really annoyed about this.
The story then goes completely ridiculous. But is doesn’t matter, you’ve managed to get the sexual content in there right?
Emilia Fox cannot do American Southern accent for toffee, and it makes you feel like screaming.
The book starts to drag from about the middle. The police involvement was ridiculous and pure fantasy.
The ending drags on for at least 3 hours.
This book is not a thriller, it’s a horror story, using rape as yet another fantasy.
No I will not read this author again nor will I listen to Emilia Fox if this is the tripe she now has to do.
AWFUL! AWFUL! AWFUL!
Yet another wasted credit based on glowing reviews.



20 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Adictive

couldn't put it down. Excellent . lots of twists and turns. Finished it in a day.

10 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

My guilty pleasure. So many twists and turns.

I could not stop listening there were so many twists and turns. Once you get sucked into the world of the main character it’s difficult to think of anything else. I binged the whole novel (14 hours) in two says. I was so desperate to find out the answer to the mystery I switched to double speed. It doesn’t disappoint. No spoilers, but there is a brilliant revelation at the end that I never saw coming. The reader is brilliant too. After hearing the audiobook, I immediately read the book itself. This book has been my guilty pleasure this summer and I enjoyed every moment of it.

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wow!

I admit I chose this book because I’m called Carrie too! Reading the first chapter, I was shocked! Then the twist so early on. Fantastic. Then more... I can honestly say this is the most gripping book I’ve read this year. Absolutely blew my mind. I’m planning to read it again now I know the full story, and I know it will be just as good. Bring on her next book!

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wow wow wow

I can’t believe this is a debut book, outstanding writing with twists and turns! Please write another soon !

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

amazing 👏

couldn't stop listening to this book. Story great and an unexpected twist at the end.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic Story!

Loved this book. Such an original idea and so well written. Strong interesting characters weaved so well into the story. It’s also very well narrated and I can’t wait for the next book by this author. A fantastic debut novel!

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic

Absolutely fantastic story. Hooked throughout!! Brilliant twist I never expected. Well worth the use of a credit.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent

Had me listening from the outset. Enjoyable snd interesting plot. Emilia Fox gave it her all!

4 people found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Grundlefly
  • Grundlefly
  • 28-10-20

DON’T READ REVIEWS - SOMEONE GAVE THE TWIST AWAY!

Someone has given this a five star review titled: “Wow. Didn’t see that coming.” And then told everyone what’s coming in the very next line.

Well, nice that you didn’t see it coming but then spoil it for everyone else.

I don’t generally leave ratings and reviews but had to come on here and warn future buyers.

So if you like a good twist, DON'T READ ANY REVIEWS!

15 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for ENJ
  • ENJ
  • 03-09-20

Stupid.

I felt Very stupid while listening to this “novel” and have deep regret for having listened for hours, thinking that it might get better. It did not.

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sara C
  • Sara C
  • 30-01-21

Holy 1 million stars

You just have to read it. The twists and turns will spin your head! Especially the last one

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for JenniferLOVESThrillers
  • JenniferLOVESThrillers
  • 26-12-20

Wow Boooring!!

NO SPOILERS! Wow what a bore fest!!! The book description sounds like it’s fast paced but it just drones on and on. I listened about 45 minutes and quit.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Michelle Bean
  • Michelle Bean
  • 17-11-20

Worth the download!

I consume books! Love them! This was a good one. It keeps you guessing. I hope theres a sequel.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kindle Customer
  • Kindle Customer
  • 10-11-20

So good!

What a story ! Kept me interested all the way through. I never guessed what was ahead.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Angel Freeman
  • Angel Freeman
  • 31-10-20

SO FREAKING GOOD!!!

I don't write a ton of reviews. This book was amazing. I laughed, cried, a whole myriadof emotions. I literally listened to all of it at once and it's currently 4:16am while writing this. The story was great. I can honestly say I have never heard this plot twist. I had several ideas but the actuality made me rewind it and re-listion to what I had heard to make sure I heard it correctly. The narrator is next level. The only downside to it was the accent she used for Jay. I'm from Douglasville Ga as well, and we don't sound like that lol. But even in movies they make us sound like rednecks or something. Other than that particular character, she does male and female, and several different ethnic accents without a hiccup. Absolutely fantastic. Can't wait to read or listen to other books by this author and narrator.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 20-04-21

Great Twists and turns!

I really enjoyed this story as it unwound itself. The narrator did a fabulous job of different voices also. I like the way the author built the story out of natural circumstance, into a bigger, thicker plot. Well done.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for lonnelle neavear
  • lonnelle neavear
  • 03-11-20

intriguing though somewhat predictable

the reader was, in general, excellent. I only gave her 4 stars because of the sketchy American accent. And the southern drawl sounded like a combination of Texas, Louisiana, and West Virginia. But I did enjoy the book.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anne Greer
  • Anne Greer
  • 22-10-20

Wow. Didn’t see that coming.

The final shooting scene was unexpected. At first I was disappointed that Carrie pulled the twin card but she really did an awesome job weaving it back in. I enjoyed how she transformed the mother and the best friend. I love the changes in these characters. Will look for her next book!

2 people found this helpful