Listen free for 30 days

Thousands of incredible audiobooks and podcasts to take wherever you go.
Immerse yourself in a world of storytelling with the Plus Catalogue - unlimited listening to thousands of select audiobooks, podcasts and Audible Originals.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
We Play Games cover art

We Play Games

By: Sarah A. Denzil
Narrated by: Billie Piper,Dan Stevens,Shane Zaza,Avita Jay,Felicity Duncan,David Holt,Sarah Whitehouse
Try for £0.00

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically.

Buy Now for £13.00

Buy Now for £13.00

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Listeners also enjoyed...

Husband and Wife cover art
The Girl in Room 12 cover art
Such a Loving Couple cover art
The School Reunion cover art
The Couple's Revenge cover art
The Perfect Girlfriend cover art
The Night of the Sleepover cover art
The Mother-in-Law's Secret cover art
Missing Molly cover art
The Doctor's Wife cover art
The Lodge cover art
The Night She Lied cover art
The Night Shift cover art
The Little House cover art
Twisted cover art
The Fake Wife cover art

Summary

When the rules turn deadly, winning is everything.

Only available from Audible, a gripping psychological thriller from the author of Silent Child, Saving April, and The Broken Ones. Perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn, Lisa Jewell and Paula Hawkins.

This gripping multi-voice audiobook features Billie Piper as Effie, Dan Stevens as Ben, Shane Zaza as David, and Avita Jay as Sophie, other roles are played by Felicity Duncan, David Holt and Sarah Whitehouse.

The perfect couple. The perfect marriage. The perfect game.

Effie and Ben May have everything. Success. Beauty. Glamour. But beneath the charming smiles and expensive clothes, a twisted game is in progress.

A game for which only they know the rules.

Leaving their fast-paced London life behind them, the Mays move to the exclusive gated community of Ivy Oaks. Here they can settle down and start a family in this quiet, safe little neighbourhood. At least, that’s what they tell their new neighbours.

But the truth has deadly consequences.

While Effie and Ben scheme and manipulate those around them, they fail to notice their carefully cultivated façade crumbling away. The perfect couple soon turn the game on each other, breaking all the rules. But when the stakes are life and death, losing isn’t an option.

As the final cards are dealt, who will play the winning hand and who will pay the ultimate price?

©2024 Sarah Denzil (P)2024 Audible, Ltd

Critic reviews

“Fans of Gillian Flynn and Paula Hawkins, welcome to your new listening addiction!” The Sun

What listeners say about We Play Games

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1,437
  • 4 Stars
    488
  • 3 Stars
    177
  • 2 Stars
    44
  • 1 Stars
    33
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1,704
  • 4 Stars
    329
  • 3 Stars
    83
  • 2 Stars
    23
  • 1 Stars
    14
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1,334
  • 4 Stars
    478
  • 3 Stars
    236
  • 2 Stars
    58
  • 1 Stars
    47

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant!

I loved this audiobook! All the narrators were so good and it really drew me in from the start. I would definitely have been happy to use a credit on it but as it was included in the subscription price it was a double bonus! Highly recommended! Another great book by Sarah A Denzil!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

9 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Amazing!

One of my favourite authors smashed it again. Love the storyline. Feel sad I’ve finished it. Now to catch up on the sleep I missed last night because I couldn’t stop listening until 4am

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

if you enjoyed NONE OF THIS IS TRUE you'll love this!!

A great listen that I HAD to finish in less than 48 hours, it was that gripping. it was recommended to me by Audible. they got the recommendation right!!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

everything

Thoughly enjoyed the whole package. It is probably the best audio book I've ever listened to in 8 years.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

OMG

Just breathtaking, right up until the very, very last twist! Gripped from the very beginning.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

we play games

really enjoyed it . twist and turns. I'll be telling my friends about it

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

storyline exceptional

I liked everything and thought the narrators were
very good choice, good story kept my attention fro beginning to end

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

We play games

Thank you audible for recommending this included book. One of the best included books I’ve listened to.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant!

This is how it should be done! Fast paced, keeps you guessing, brilliant narration, not a predictable ending. Just brilliant from start to finish, especially the little twist at the end, it’s not what you think!

My only flaw would be the musical side of the book, was a little annoying and unnecessary but other than that thoroughly enjoyed 🤎

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

gripping

the twists and turns kept me listening to well into the late hours. the musical interludes set the atmosphere. enjoyed.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

3 people found this helpful