Listen free for 30 days

To the Eastern Seas

Thomas Kydd 22
Narrated by: Christian Rodska
Series: Thomas Kydd, Book 22
Length: 12 hrs and 2 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (37 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Perfect for fans of Patrick O'Brian, Bernard Cornwell and swashbuckling adventure during the great Age of Sail: To the Eastern Seas is the 22nd novel in Julian Stockwin's acclaimed Thomas Kydd series. With Bonaparte held to a stalemate in Europe, the race to empire is now resumed. Britain's ambitions turn to the Spice Islands, the Dutch East Indies, where Admiral Pellew has been sent to confront the enemy's vastly rich holdings in these tropical islands. Captain Sir Thomas Kydd joins reinforcements to snatch these for the British Crown.

The two colonial masters of India and the East Indies face each other in mortal striving for the region - there can be only one victor to hold all the spoils. The colonial genius Stamford Raffles believes Britain should strike at the very centre of Dutch spice production, the Moluccas, rather than the fortresses one by one but is fiercely opposed. Kydd, allying himself to this cause, conspires to lead a tiny force to a triumphant conclusion - however the Dutch, stung by this loss, claim vengeance from the French. A battle for Java and an empire in the East stretches Kydd and Tyger's company to their very limits.

©2019 Julian Stockwin (P)2019 Hodder & Stoughton Limited

Critic reviews

Praise for Julian Stockwin's Kydd series: "Paints a vivid picture of life aboard the mighty ship-of-the-line." (Daily Express)

"This heady adventure blends fact and fiction in rich, authoritative detail." (Nautical Magazine)

"Fans of fast-paced adventure will get their fill with this book." (Historical Naval Society)

What members say
Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    27
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    24
  • 4 Stars
    9
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    24
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The Joy of Salt!

There are few things that I look forwards to more on Audible than being able to start another epic adventure with Thomas Kydd read to me by that old sea salt himself Christian Rodska! The combination of Stockwin's words with Rodska's fantastic delivery is like standing listening to the waves crash to shore in a stiff and salty breeze. I have to admit that at the very start I did wonder if the voice had lost a little of its rich timbre but as he growled out grumpy admirals, brought to life rough old Jack Tars and purred through unctious nobles I was smartly reminded at just how perfect he is for these books.

Kydd, well he's not changed much, he can fight his way and think his way out of almost any situation except of course with the ladies who seem to circle him with intents every bit as damaging to his career as maneuvering enemy battleships and recalcitrant admirals.

The scenery though has changed as Kydd is dispatched once more to the East Indies, exotic lands and place names abound. As ever the whole fiction is woven in to real historical events displaying great skill and in-depth research by the author. There is quite a lot of action but also a bit more time than usual ashore and I think it's fair to say that some of the action had an anticlimactic air to it but it did fit what history dictated.

That's not to criticise though, I enjoyed every minute of the just over twelve hours including the brief historical notes included after the story. One of the incidents at the end had me eye-rolling a bit until it was explained in those historical notes as a real event . . . I should have known better, of course I should.

In short, this is top quality audio and if you haven't heard of the series before then get thee gone to Book One straight away, you are in for a journey that I envy you for!

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A fine rollicking tale.

A fine rollicking tale, seen through the eyes of a fine wordsmith whose nautical knowledge and imagination is totally convincing.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent

This is without doubt the best tale of its kind that I've ever had the good fortune to encounter.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Dr. Michael B
  • Dr. Michael B
  • 13-04-20

A weak excuse for a book

At this stage in his life, Kidd displays lots of immature behavior, poor practical judgment, and seems generally to be a dumb-*as. Not much ocean time and the author occasionally rescues Kidd from his stupidity with some daring-do. Getting ready to stop reading these books.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for lars wallis
  • lars wallis
  • 26-02-20

Expected more

Too much land not enough sea action. Least enjoyed of the Captain Kid series. Somewhat disappointed.