Listen free for 30 days

The Workhouse Waif

Narrated by: Lowri Walton
Series: The Winds of Fortune, Book 1
Length: 8 hrs and 29 mins
Categories: Fiction, Sagas
4 out of 5 stars (16 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Will this little orphan girl find her happy ending?

After the death of her father in a mining accident, Megan and her family had no choice but to move to the local workhouse. Separated from her mother and five siblings, young Megan must learn how to stand on her own two feet.

But it's on one of the days she's sent out on errands that her fate changes. She meets a young boy who's stealing apples from the local market, as well as a friendly well-to-do lady with the most melodious voice she's ever heard. With her newfound friends, can she find a new life for herself?

A heartwarming saga, perfect for fans of Dilly Court, Katie Flynn and Nadine Dorries.

Please note: this edition contains editorial revisions.

©2018 Lynette Rees (P)2018 Quercus Editions Limited

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    10
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars

Great story disappointing narration

This book was completely ruined by the narrator so much so I'll never purchase another book narrated by her. She races along from one sentence to another with no emotion or even interest in the story very disappointed

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good story!

I enjoyed the story but recording not clear. Stops and starts which spoiled the listening.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

The. Workhouse Waif.

Whilst the endings are predictable, you just can't put the book down,so we'll written. Can't wait to read the next one of the series.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

The Best I Have Listened To In A Long Time

I really enjoyed listening to this book The Workhouse Waif, and I know it would make a Wonderful Film or even a short T.V. Series. I really look forward to listening to more from. Lynette Rees.