Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £16.99

Buy Now for £16.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

A brooding and suspenseful thriller that will appeal to fans of Rachel Abbott, Mark Edwards and Shalini Boland.

Faye and her husband, Hugh, have had a traumatic year. Wanting to start again, the couple decides to buy a large run-down property in North Yorkshire, hoping to leave the past behind them.

However, the tranquillity is soon ruined when Faye begins to awake, every night, to the sound of somebody creeping around the bedroom. She tries to explain it to Hugh, frightened for the safety of their children, Aiden and Poppy, but Hugh dismisses her claims, thinking she is heading for another breakdown.

But when Faye discovers some diaries that contain secrets about the family that lived in the house before them, she starts to wonder if the intruder might be closer to home than she first thought.

©2018 J.A. Baker (P)2019 W. F. Howes Ltd

More from the same

What listeners say about The Uninvited

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Weak plot with no suspense

This was my first experience of this author. I try to be fair with my reviews but there is no escaping that this was a long tedious listen.The story is told entirely in the first person by the main character Faye whose intense and exagerrated reactions and emotions to everything throughout the entire book made me think of a neurotic drama queen. I found myself not caring about the characters or the outcome. For me the plot is very weak and the reveal at the end is equally as weak and uninspiring. The writng style is OK although there is unnecessary use of the f word and the author fails to create any suspense. The narrator had a tough job bringing this story to life but I also found the narration monotonous and lacking in any real emotion. The narrator also made occasional pronounciation errors throughout the book which is surprising for a professional narrator. I cannot recommend this book at all and wished I had given up and returned it to Audible for a refund.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

5✨for the book and 1 ✨star for the narrator.

I found a comfy corner, put my earphones on and became a part of this The Uninvited book Audio. I really hated the narrator's voice and ended up turning it off after 3 chapters! So annoying voice. Shame though!!! I ended up reading the book in the end and I loved it.
So 5✨for the book and 1 ✨star for the narrator. Her voice was so annoying and went straight through me. It was just monotone and boring. So annoying as it ruined the audio book - As I love these. But 8 hours + listening to her voice it just ruined it for me! So, I turned it off and read the book instead.
Waste of money for the audio book!!!