Listen free for 30 days

The Understudy

Length: 11 hrs and 21 mins
3.5 out of 5 stars (24 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Written by Sophie Hannah, BA Paris, Clare Mackintosh, and Holly Bron, this psychological thriller is perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty and Louise Candlish. 

How far would you go to protect your daughter? 

Four mothers must identify the true threat at their daughters' school before it's too late. 

Carolyn, Bronnie, Elise, and Kendall are bound together by one thing - their four daughters are best friends at the highly competitive Orla Flynn Academy for the Performing Arts. 

Last year the foursome exploded because of brutal bullying between the girls, but they've since forgiven each other. The mothers, however, haven't been able to move on. When new threats surface and 'accidents' begin to happen - just as a mysterious new girl enters the scene - the mothers take matters into their own hands. 

But they will have to risk their own secrets being exposed if they stand a chance at uncovering the truth.... 

Four incredible novelists come together to tell this unique, brilliantly written suspense story.

©2019 Sophie Hannah (P)2019 Serial Box

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    2

Performance

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    11
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Ridiculous

The MOST ridiculous book of all time. Adults acting like dramatic children with unbelievable characteristics. I had high hopes given the writers, however - a Really, really bad book.

Narrators are not a problem - not their fault the story is so bad!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Very interesting plot

Quite a fascinating story. It went on a bit too long but very well written. The people were mostly unpleasant, and were sometimes within a whisper of being characatures , but I really enjoyed the book, and the integration between the writers was excellent. They must have had great fun.