Regular price: £23.99

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
  • Get access to the Member Daily Deal
OR
In Basket

Summary

Random House presents the audiobook edition of The Toymakers by Robert Dinsdale, read by Ruby Bentall.

Do you remember when you believed in magic?

It is 1917, and while war wages across Europe, in the heart of London, there is a place of hope and enchantment.

The Emporium sells toys that capture the imagination of children and adults alike: patchwork dogs that seem alive, toy boxes that are bigger on the inside, soldiers that can fight battles of their own. Into this family business comes young Cathy Wray, running away from a shameful past. The Emporium takes her in, makes her one of its own.

But Cathy is about to discover that the Emporium has secrets of its own....

A dark, enchanting, spectacularly imaginative novel perfect for fans of Jessie Burton's The Miniaturist and Erin Morgenstern's The Night Circus.

©2018 Robert Dinsdale (P)2018 Random House Audiobooks

More from the same

Author

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    75
  • 4 Stars
    27
  • 3 Stars
    15
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    63
  • 4 Stars
    29
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    63
  • 4 Stars
    23
  • 3 Stars
    13
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

disappointing

I was so excited to read this book. the narration was fine and the storyline. But I found it an unenjoyable listen. it was very vague in areas and often unclear. such promise of enchantment but sadly lacking

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

if you like the night Circus your love this book

this book is an intriguing story and keeps you guessing what's round the corner with magic and mystery well worth a listen

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Absolutely fantastic!

I haven’t enjoyed a book as much as this for years. I know I’ll read it over and over again. THANKYOU so much for such wonderful imagination.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Simply magical!

This book is beautifully written. I can't wait for First Frost... The performance is perfect - Ruby Bentall just added to the magic!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

good overall.

the story could have been at least a couple of chapters shorter. it waffles in the middle and seemed to lose it's way bout if you persevere the ending is worth it.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant

World's within world's. Descriptions and feelings, written with such depth and detail. Excellent plot with great insight.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant!

A really different and unique story, a joy to listen to from beginning to end.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Phenomenal

Best thing I've listened to in years. Absolutely fantastic from beginning to end, and a beautiful Christmas book.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Marvelous!

if you liked The Night Circus, then this is for you. I haven't enjoyed a book do much in a long time.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Prissy,

Using over sophisticated language in attempt to sound sophisticated and failing in the process. Lacks true discriptive imagery. Kept going untill chapter 6 and then deleted it from my Audible library