Try an audiobook on us

The Tenderness of Wolves

Narrated by: Adam Sims, Sally Armstrong
Length: 14 hrs and 59 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (7 ratings)
Regular price: £24.99
£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

10-year anniversary edition - features first chapter of Stef's new epic novel, Under a Pole Star.

Costa Award Winner and worldwide best seller.

A breathtaking tale of mystery, buried secrets and romance, set in 19th-century frontier Canada - for fans of The Snow Child and A Place Called Winter.

Canada, 1867. A young murder suspect flees across the snowy wilderness. Tracking him is what passes for the law in this frontier land: trappers, sheriffs, traders and the suspect's own mother, desperate to clear his name. As the party pushes further from civilisation, hidden purposes and old obsessions are revealed. One is seeking long-lost daughters, another a fortune in stolen furs; yet another is chasing rumours of a lost Native American culture. 

But where survival depends on cooperation, their fragile truce cannot afford to be broken nor their overriding purpose - to find justice for a murdered man - forgotten.  

The Tenderness of Wolves is a must-listen historical epic weaving adventure, suspense and humour into an exhilarating thriller, a panoramic romance and, ultimately, one of the best audiobooks of the last 10 years.

©2006 Stef Penney (P)2018 Hachette Audio UK

Critic reviews

"Unquestionably atmospheric, evocative and rewarding." (Independent on Sunday)

"A tense and delicately written thriller." (Observer)

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0