Listen free for 30 days

The Sparrow Sisters

A Novel
Narrated by: Cassandra Campbell
Length: 11 hrs
4 out of 5 stars (2 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

With echoes of the alchemy of Practical Magic, the lushness of Saving CeeCee Honeycutt, and the darkly joyful wickedness of the Witches of East End, Ellen Herrick's debut novel spins an enchanting love story about a place where magic whispers just beneath the surface and almost anything is possible if you aren't afraid to listen.

The Sparrow Sisters are as tightly woven into the seaside New England town of Granite Point as the wild sweet peas that climb the stone walls along the harbor. Sorrel, Nettie, and Patience are as colorful as the beach plums on the dunes and as mysterious as the fog that rolls into town at dusk.

Patience is the town healer, and when a new doctor settles into Granite Point he brings with him a mystery so compelling that Patience is drawn to love him even as she struggles to mend him. But when Patience Sparrow's herbs and tinctures are believed to be implicated in a local tragedy, Granite Point is consumed by a long-buried fear - and its 300-year-old history resurfaces as a modern-day witch hunt threatens. The plants and flowers, fruit trees and high hedges begin to wither and die, and the entire town begins to fail; fishermen return to the harbor empty handed, and blight descends on the old elms that line the lanes.

It seems as if Patience and her town are lost until the women of Granite Point band together to save the Sparrow. As they gather, drawing strength from each other, will they be able to turn the tide and return life to Granite Point?

The Sparrow Sisters is a beautiful, haunting, and thoroughly mesmerizing novel that will capture your imagination.

©2015 Ellen Herrick (P)2015 HarperCollins Publishers

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sephra
  • Sephra
  • 22-05-18

wonderfully written and performed

As readers/listeners, it can be hard to find the type of story that fits, but this one definitely hit the mark for me. Its the type of story that, as you go through gives you bits and pieces of the characters so that you have an overall view of what's going on and at the same time you get to watch the story unfold as the characters figure things out.

Fans of Deliverance Dane and Practical Magic will love this book as it is a mystery with a subtle hint of magic. In a day and age where herbs and herbalism are becoming more acceptable but still have trepedation surrounding them, this story is a good example of these clashing opinions.

I finished this within a day, sad that it wasn't longer, but am just about to purchase the second book in this series.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for colsie Searcy
  • colsie Searcy
  • 17-06-16

Unfulfilled

I purchased this book hoping for magical intrigue and it completely fell short. Although I did finish the book nothing about it truly gripped me. I'm a huge fan of Sara Addison Allen and so many reviews compared this book to her style and I was left waiting page after page for that to become apparent to me. I felt very let down by the plot and how it ended spinning into a court battle. There were so many opportunities for this book to have taken a different path and I finished it hoping that would happen. Needless to say I was left wishing I had made a better purchase.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for chamilton
  • chamilton
  • 13-11-15

Boring and ridiculous

Its not like I can't be into a story that has some other worldy aspects to it. This book was boring and the lead character was whiney. I was just so tired of hearing this character contstantly whining about her :gift" . This book is sold as a mystery, thriller but not so much. More of a romance that kinda sucks. Don't waste your credit on this one.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for DrGrien
  • DrGrien
  • 12-07-18

plants hold magic

I enjoyed this book very much. I believe in the magic of plants and the people who hold the gift to use them.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Adrina13
  • Adrina13
  • 19-08-16

both need to work with a different genre.

This book was picked for me by my book club. The synopsis sounded like it could be OK but it wasn't really.
The story was lacking. There was an incident that really. old have added a nice climax to the book that just dropped dead. The characters were very one dimensional like the author had a good idea for a book but never really explored or learned about the characters she was writing about. It is very evident that this is her first book.
The performance and book together remind me of more historical fiction instead of something modern. The whole time while listening I was picturing something entirely different and then forced to come back to reality when this gs like cell phone and Iraq War were thrown I .
I didn't hate but I wouldn't recommend it. Writer needs to take more time with the next book.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for RueRue
  • RueRue
  • 22-09-15

Good narrator, weak story

Cassandra Campbell has a lovely voice that enhances everything she narrates, but she can't make this debt novel anything more than what it is....a first attempt at magical fiction. Alice Hoffman does MF so much better. Maybe this author will improve with practice, but I just found this story predictable and unenchanting.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Donna
  • Donna
  • 31-08-19

Not Quite

This book seemed to have it all. I was completely ready to love it. But the main character.... Ugh!!! At first meeting, she is so powerful she could stop you with a glance. She fights with her boyfriend over nothing, just so they can make up. Then there is tragedy and she turns into a ragdoll who can't do anything but shake and continuously throw up, for days. She loses so much weight no one can see her in her bed and the house is supposedly freezing, because she is out of control. It is nothing but unhappiness and Sooo completely boring!!! Everyone in the town has a grudge and is unhappy. In honesty though, I couldn't complete it, only made it halfway, so maybe the book redeems itself. But... I can't see how. Bunch of unlikeable people.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Quilter I Am
  • Quilter I Am
  • 23-04-18

Wonderful & magical story of healing & remorse.

Loved this story of a close knit family of 3 sisters & a small town. Lots of magical emotions, friendships & forgiveness.

Narrator was spot on with her timing & emotion.

I am going to find the sequel right away!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 23-02-18

Fun

This was a fun listen. Nothing to learn from, but fun none the less. A good chewing gum book.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 26-10-17

Easy

While I enjoyed this book, I already had it figured out within the first few chapters. It is still worth listening too if you figure it out

1 of 2 people found this review helpful