Listen free for 30 days

Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
The Son cover art

The Son

By: Elena Wilkes
Narrated by: Emma Stansfield
Try for £0.00

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £35.99

Buy Now for £35.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Listeners also enjoyed...

The Man I Married cover art
My Husband's Lies cover art
Her Husband's Mistake cover art
The Night of the Sleepover cover art
The Night She Lied cover art
The Wedding Guest cover art
The Lodge cover art
The Florist cover art
The Secrets of Mill House cover art
The Perfect Girlfriend cover art
The Mistake I Made cover art
The Other Couple cover art
My Word Against His cover art
The Secret at No.4 cover art
The Courier cover art
The Inheritance cover art

Summary

Woah! This is one of the best thrillers I’ve read this year! Intense, suspenseful, intriguing. It did not go the way I was expecting!” Reader review, *****

Your perfect child isn’t so perfect anymore…

From the outside, my life appears normal, boring even – but in that way you treasure when you once had nothing. These days, I have a loving new husband, a polite and intelligent teenage son. Everything seems perfect, but beneath the surface, I feel afraid.

My son, the child I’ve sacrificed everything for, is scaring me. When he looks at me, his gaze is dark and calculating. In public he’s as sweet as always, but the things he says to me at home make my neck prickle with fear. I'm a mother – I've learned to trust my instincts, and right now, they're screaming that something is very wrong.

My new husband Drew, a respected police officer, folds me into his arms, telling me I'm just overprotective. That after what happened to me, I don’t know how to be happy. I decide to believe he’s right.

But then comes the phone call. A young woman’s voice – shaky and full of terror. She wants my help – she’s trying to warn me. What she tells me shocks me to my very core.

It’s then I decide to face the truth about my family, and it’s so much worse than I could have ever imagined…

The Son is a gripping psychological thriller, full of twists, secrets and heart-stopping suspense. Trust no one, suspect everyone – an unputdownable story that will leave you breathless. Perfect for fans of Ruth Ware, Clare Douglas and Lisa Jewell.

What readers are saying about The Son:

Wow! Absolutely loved this book! It grabbed me from the start and is a fast-paced thriller with great twists that you really don’t expect.” Reader review, *****

“A lot of unexpected twists and turns, a lot of surprises and a great plot!... I highly recommend this 5-star book!” Reader review, *****

Excellent.” Reader review, *****

Wow, what a ride!... The unexpected twist that emerges is absolutely brilliant – a curveball I never saw coming.” Reader review, *****

Aww I was hooked on this one! It's well written with so many twists and turns that you never know if you're coming or going until the big reveal…. an original storyline that hasn't been done a dozen times before. I loved it.” Reader review, *****

Absolutely fantastic. It had me guessing to the end going back and forth on who to trust… Intense, suspenseful, and very intriguing.” Reader review, *****

©2023 Elena Wilkes (P)2023 Storm Publishing

What listeners say about The Son

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • M
  • 02-12-23

Hysteria

Beth was irritating, always hysterical and needy, refused to listen to anyone and cut them off when they tried. Had she listened just for once she might have learned a lot faster. I often murmured to myself, "shut up Beth". At the very beginning I felt sorry for Joe, Beth was always on his case. Towards the end of the book, I felt that such is Beth's "goodness", that she will never learn and will go on trusting. The narrator, despite all that hysteria and despair managed to convey this without raising her voice or using harsh, gabbling, grating language and there was no whispering. Listening with earbuds was therefore bearable and no need to adjust the volume, every word was audible. An unusual thriller if you can put up with Beth. Liked it.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!