Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £12.99

Buy Now for £12.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

Everyone deserves a chance at happiness....

Danniella is running from her past, so when she arrives at the beautiful seaside resort of Whitsborough Bay, the last thing on her mind is making friends. After all, they might find out her secrets....

Alison is fun, caring and doesn't take herself too seriously. But beneath the front, she is a lost soul, stuck in a terrible relationship, with body confidence issues and no family to support her. All she really needs is a friend.

Karen's romance has taken a back seat to her fitness business. But she doesn’t want to give up on love quite yet. If only those mysterious texts would stop coming through....

When the women meet at their local bootcamp, a deep friendship blossoms. And soon they realise that the secret to happiness is where they least expected to find it....

An uplifting story of friendship and finding the strength to come to terms with the past. Perfect for fans of Tilly Tennant and Cathy Bramley.

©2019 Jessica Redland (P)2019 Boldwood Books

Critic reviews

"Forget the Cotswolds, Jessica makes the Northern English coast sound like the most idyllic place to be." (The Cozy Pages)

What listeners say about The Secret to Happiness

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    41
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    36
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    38
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

Best this year

I enjoyed this story so much I cannot get it out of my mind and I didn't want it too end . It's a story of three girls who find each other and become firm friends, you live through their ups and downs and how they all find the secret to Happiness.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I love this author

This book was yet another hit by Jessica Redland. I absolutely loved the characters and their journeys. Would definitely recommend this uplifting read.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant listen

Absolutely brilliant book, had me fixed from the off, gripping, heartwarming and heart wrenching all at the same time, this is the first of Jessica Redlands books I’ve listened to and I’m just about to download the next!!!!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Great story but!!

Really the last 30 minutes wasn’t needed and actually spoilt the book. Then became boring

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Unputdownable

My first listen to Jessica Redland. And my first ever review. This book was a throughly enjoyable listen, I think it will always be a firm favourite of mine. Looking forward to hearing more of Jessicas novels.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jan
  • Jan
  • 14-12-20

The Secret to Happiness

The Secret to Happiness. I loved this book it was a really good story not just heavy breathing and same old sex scenes copied and pasted throughout the book. Like so many books. Why can we not have more similar books. Usually the books offered on plus catalogue I find are very ordinary. Wish Audible would put some books on plus catalogue that are similar to this. Just a good story basically about real people. Did not want to put it down

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for lisa
  • lisa
  • 25-09-19

Amazing!!!

I don't know how I even stumbled across this book but I absolutely loved it! Three great female characters and I grew to love each one! Narrator was excellent at differentiating the voices, I never had to guess who was talking. The book flowed great from start to finish!