Listen free for 30 days

The Secret

The Number One Best-Selling Author of The Letter
Narrated by: Rachel Atkins
Length: 9 hrs and 12 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (1,194 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

The best-selling author returns with her second novel, The Secret - a beautiful, tear-jerking novel which will be cherished by all those thousands of fans who lost their hearts to The Letter.

From the Number One best-selling author of The Letter comes The Secret - a heart-breaking novel of tragedy, hope and second chances. Fans of Jojo Moyes and Amanda Prowse will love the moving human drama of Kathryn Hughes.

Mary has been nursing a secret.

Forty years ago, she made a choice that would change her world for ever, and alter the path of someone she holds dear.

Beth is searching for answers. She has never known the truth about her parentage, but finding out could be the lifeline her sick child so desperately needs. When Beth finds a faded newspaper cutting amongst her mother's things, she realises the key to her son's future lies in her own past. She must go back to where it all began to unlock...the Secret.

©2016 Kathryn Hughes (P)2016 Headline Publishing Group Limited

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    740
  • 4 Stars
    319
  • 3 Stars
    107
  • 2 Stars
    19
  • 1 Stars
    9

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    780
  • 4 Stars
    249
  • 3 Stars
    59
  • 2 Stars
    11
  • 1 Stars
    11

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    683
  • 4 Stars
    283
  • 3 Stars
    103
  • 2 Stars
    24
  • 1 Stars
    10

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Very good book. Recommended.

After reader her previous book The Letter i searched out more from this author and narrator, i was not disappointed.
Both the storyline and the characters soon came alive. Loved the ending too.

15 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

A well versed story

First and foremost I enjoyed The Letter and because of this bought The Secret. A good read with an in depth knowledge of human behaviour.
I gathered the secret towards the middle of the book but another part of the story was a complete suprise.

10 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

plenty of twists and turns

loved this book, kept me interested all the way through, not many books surprise me, but this had a few surprises in it. could relate to the characters and in places i had a tear in my eye.

10 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Good beginning predictable ending

I loved this book at the beginning but as it went in I got really bored and really struggled to keep going. I much preferred The Letter and would recommend that book over this one.

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Enjoyable

narrator was good very well read....good storyline.....good twist in story....really enjoyed first audible story ☺

10 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

THE SECRET

Beautiful story set in the North of England. . This story spans over the life of an unwanted baby, from her birth and then takes you on a journey through to her discovery of her family. Beautifully read by Rachel Atkins. I would highly recommend this book. Well worth a read.

9 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Better then her first book!!

loved it! I found at first I was a bit confused, as you go to the past I couldn't work out the link between the characters... but once I got into it I ended up hooked. The story was much better then the authors first book, and I loved the dynamics of the characters and how well developed they are so you really care about them.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Good but very depressing!

All I can say is don't ever listen to this book if you are depressed!
It is pretty much non stop gloom......disease, suicide, unwanted pregnancy, bullying, car crash, death, child neglect, injuries, fire, lies and worry to name a few.
Narration was good, there thankfully was a happy ending, it had a good twist to it and I listened to it to the end but there was just too much relentless gloom and despair for me.

19 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wonderful

Gripping story, beautifully written., The narration added depth to this audio experience. More please from this writer.

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant!!!

Loved it + loved the narration!
Highly recommend this if you like a story that is present day and past. If you are in your 40's or older you will undoubtedly enjoy!

2 people found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Rachel
  • Rachel
  • 24-07-19

I loved reading the book so much but some time has past so I decided to have a listen while I knit.

The pace of the reader and flow of the stories by Kathryn Hughes the perfect choice for me.
I found them to be such a good fit I had to recommend all her books to those on my FB knitting pages.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Cricket
  • Cricket
  • 25-03-18

Good read

I enjoyed this book. Not as much as the previous books (The Key and The Letter), but it was all in all worth the credit and time spent listening.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Elizabeth
  • Elizabeth
  • 22-01-19

Another interesting take by Kathryn Hughes

Two accidents power the trajectory of the lives in this book. When the end comes, an early assumption by the reader is proven wrong. Ms. Hughes draws you in and keeps you wondering. Well done.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Judith A.
  • Judith A.
  • 27-12-18

Hang on, play close attention

I was saved from a terribly boring 3 hour drive home and transferred to a place of love, loss, hope and in the end, relief.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Pearl A Harris
  • Pearl A Harris
  • 21-02-20

Excellent Read

Loved this book! The author is so good at keeping the reader connected to the story and wanting more!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Terri Hill
  • Terri Hill
  • 10-02-19

Lots of twists and turns

Very much liked the story line. Lots of characters that were well described. Some very happy moments, but lots of sad ones as well. I had no idea where it was all heading, but I very much enjoyed the final outcome. Great performance! I definitely recommend this book.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mosey's Mommy
  • Mosey's Mommy
  • 28-12-18

Read or listen to this book! It is a great work!

I loved this book. The story was very good and the narrater did an awesome job! Great work, Kathryn Hughes!!!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Reamsey
  • Reamsey
  • 28-07-18

Surprised

It’s not often that I get surprised with a twist in a story but this one got me! Loved it to the end.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Stormi Meyers
  • Stormi Meyers
  • 16-06-18

Amazing story and the reader is amazing

I live Kathryn Hughes books so far. I think this is the second I i have read and also enjoy Rachel Atkins narrating them

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jan
  • Jan
  • 26-08-17

Very intriguing!

I enjoy the way Kathryn writes. You have to pause a bit to remember the characters. I enjoyed the way the scenes unfolded from earlier years to the present. As was The Letter, this book is definitely a page turner. The narration by Rachel Atkins is spectacular. I highly recommend this book.