Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £12.99

Buy Now for £12.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

My name is Sylvie Duchene, and I am a dancer. There is no network. I am just a dancer. I know nothing. Please...I swear it....

An unknown location, occupied France, 1944. Dropping silently behind enemy lines, Sylvia Crichton, codename Monique, is determined to fight for the country of her birth and tear it from its Nazi stranglehold. As one of the dancers at the nightclub Mirabelle, Sylvie’s mission is to entertain the club’s German clientele and learn their secrets. 

In a world of deception and lies, she can trust no one. Not even Mirabelle’s mysterious piano player, Felix...a part of the resistance or a collaborator? But despite her SOE training, nothing can prepare Sylvie for the horrors she witnesses - or the pain of losing those she grows close to undercover....

This is a gripping romance set during WW2 in occupied France for fans of Dinah Jeffries, Kate Quinn and Pam Jenoff. 

©2020 Elisabeth Hobbes (P)2020 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

More from the same

What listeners say about The Secret Agent

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    14
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    15
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    13
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Good Allrounder

Believable plot, well read and realistic characters. One of few books I've seen through to the end recently.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Amazing

This might be my favourite story I’ve ever read. It’s impossible to stop listening once you start

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Bob L.
  • Bob L.
  • 04-06-21

A Good Spy Story with Romance

This was a good book. It kept my attention the whole way through and was kind of a thriller/spy story as well as a romance. Some readers have objected to these sexual scenes, but I thought they were fine and worked in the book to me. I liked that it had more actual war situations as well as romance.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for paula wright
  • paula wright
  • 22-02-21

Good ww2 story

I could have done without the sexual situations and I fast forwarded several times and missed nothing . When the audio was actually about espionage and war and nazi it was great. I wish author had stayed on task and gotten rid of the fluff of sexual tension. I was not really interested in a romantic audio. I noticed that once you rate the book with the stars it cannot be revised. Narrator was excellent but I should have rated it with 3 stars . But kudos for no profanity

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Teola Young
  • Teola Young
  • 21-10-21

Not too heavy

I really enjoy historical fiction but occasionally the stories of the suffering of us those who endured the atrocities of the nazis, or were part of WW2 resistance is too heartbreaking even though it is ‘fiction”. The reader did an absolutely outstanding job! And- the story was historically accurate without being too sad. I also really enjoyed the romance. It’s not for everyone- but it kept thing’s lively!

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 26-09-21

BORING

I just couldn't make it through 1/3 of this book without falling asleep. Just dragged on and on with nothing to hold my attention. Disappointing.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for camille hobbs
  • camille hobbs
  • 16-08-21

Sylvia was the worst spy ever

Was she a German sympathizer she was sickening
Everything made her sick
The cell she belonged to was silly
There was no adventure or sypyng
Dieter was as unrealistic. As Sylvia
To say she grew yo with a whorey mom and witnessed her mom’s lifestyle how did kissing dieter make her so sick
Everything made her sick
She made me sick!