Listen free for 30 days

The Point

Narrated by: Brittany Pressley
Length: 9 hrs and 37 mins
4 out of 5 stars (6 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

“[A] rousing mash-up of military SF thriller and paranormal adventure...Scarlett is a resourceful and endearing heroine.” (Publishers Weekly)

What if you had a power you had to hide from everyone - until now? In this bold sci-fi action thriller, a secret training program at West Point is turning misfits into a new generation of heroes.

Scarlett Winter has always been an outsider, and not only because she’s a hardcore daredevil and born troublemaker - she has been hiding superhuman powers she doesn’t yet understand. Now she’s been recruited by a secret West Point unit for cadets with extraordinary abilities. Scarlett and her fellow students are learning to hone their skills, from telekinetic combat to running recon missions through strangers’ dreamscapes. At The Point, Scarlett discovers that she may be the most powerful cadet of all. With the power to control pure energy, she’s a human nuclear bomb - and she’s not sure she can control her powers much longer.

Even in this army of outsiders, Scarlett feels like a misfit all over again, but when a threat that endangers her fellow students arises from the school’s dark past, duty calls and Scarlett must make a choice between being herself and becoming something even greater: a hero.

©2018 John Dixon (P)2018 Random House Audio

Critic reviews

“An exciting military SF adventure.... This action-packed military thriller keeps a fast pace and will appeal to fans of X-Men’s Charles Xavier’s School for Gifted Youngsters and TV military series such as The Unit and SEAL Team.” (Library Journal

“A thrilling mix of SF and coming-of-age story.” (Booklist)

“This ‘school for superheroes’ sci-fi action thriller moves faster than a speeding bullet.” (Kirkus Reviews)

More Than Human meets Dress Gray in Dixon’s rousing mash-up of military SF thriller and paranormal adventure.... Anyone who can buy the concept of a secret supernatural society beneath West Point will thrill to Scarlett’s adventures....Scarlett is a resourceful and endearing heroine.” (Publishers Weekly)

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

slow to start good by the end

it's not a bad book but not great either the reading was not to my style but it grows on you by the end you want to finish it but also happy to move onto something new.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Tommy
  • Tommy
  • 20-11-18

Fun hero book!

Great opening to what has the potential to become a great series. Your protagonist Scarlett is your typical rebel who discovers a unique power with potentially unlimited uses. Now she has to learn to harness this power while trying to adjust her rebel attitude as she is thrown into military school with other powered people at West Point. Add in love interests, jealous classmates, scheming CO’s and a villain with the ultimate power and you have a book well worth your credit/$ if you like the hero genre.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Vallon Davis
  • Vallon Davis
  • 28-09-19

Outstanding

Fingers crossed that there is a sequal to this book. Excellent story all around.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kyle
  • Kyle
  • 23-09-19

Wish it was a series

Skipped at a certain point in a chapter, even when I would go back.