Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £14.99

Buy Now for £14.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

What if your plus one could be the one?

Cara has officially run out of men. Her most recent dates have gone from bad to worse, and when her dating app informs her there is no one left in her area to choose from, she is at a dead end. 

But with a summer of events ahead of her, she needs to find a solution, fast; someone to keep her company at the never-ending weddings, family gatherings and gender-reveal parties that she can’t face going to alone. So when she meets handsome, confident, Millsy on a night out, she may be in luck. They could not be more different in personality, but he, too, has a summer of events ahead and is desperate to get his family off his back about finding a ‘nice girl’. What if they made a pact to help each other out and be a plus one for the summer? Just as friends of course? 

A brand-new romantic comedy from best seller Portia MacIntosh, perfect for fans of Zara Stoneley, Sophie Ranald and Mhairi McFarlane.

©2020 Portia MacIntosh (P)2020 Boldwood Books

What listeners say about The Plus One Pact

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    965
  • 4 Stars
    332
  • 3 Stars
    123
  • 2 Stars
    34
  • 1 Stars
    11
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    953
  • 4 Stars
    261
  • 3 Stars
    95
  • 2 Stars
    21
  • 1 Stars
    10
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    822
  • 4 Stars
    320
  • 3 Stars
    137
  • 2 Stars
    36
  • 1 Stars
    21

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Predictable story but laugh out loud funny

It was predictable but had some really laugh out loud funny moments and i don't usually review books but this one got me. I'm about to start the authors next book. Really light read to cheer me up while I'm cleaning and driving! 😁

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Didn’t finish it

Nope. Nope. Nope
I’m the first to admit I love a nonsense fluffy romcom but this was just beyond me. Maybe I’m getting old but any book that constantly uses ‘on brand’ or ‘woke’ isn’t for me. Turned off before I heard the dreaded ‘levelling up’ 😱😱

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • MM
  • 18-10-21

Cheered me during covid..

I listened to this pretty much straight while lying in bed with covid.. absolutely great book

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Puffs air from cheeks

How many times can one phrase be used?! Started noticing it after 2-3 and counted several more after that.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Boring

Well written, light-hearted romantic fiction that I struggled to finish. I appear to be in the minority judging by the other reviews on here but the story and characters were simply too flat and, quite frankly, boring. Go read One Day in December (Josie Silver) or The One Plus One (Jo Jo Moyes) if you want a three dimensional experience and characters that leap off the page.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Really Lovely!

Absolutely loved this! So sweet and Millsy is so hot! Highly recommended for easy listening!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved this ❤

The first book by Portia MacIntosh that I've listened to, and I loved it! Listened to the whole book in one day.
Fabulous characters, funny and heartwarming.

I will definitely buy more of hers to listen to.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

okay but somewhat predictable.

I wish it was narrated by the author as the current narrator felt like she what's misconstruing the emotion behind certain lines. it was distracting. however the ending of the story was good.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

great listen

hooked from the start finished in a day, great book. I hope there's a follow up

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good laugh

Funny Rom com read. Loved the characters and would have loved even more family interaction especially from dad Ted.

1 person found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for rhoyalblu
  • rhoyalblu
  • 08-10-21

I listened to it twice in a row.

I couldn't figure out what I loved so much about it, but then it hit me. No breathless whispers, no throbbing body parts. It was like listening to a good friend tell hilarious stories about their life. Easy to connect with and enjoy. The voice performance was perfect too.

23 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Doha
  • Doha
  • 16-10-20

Why Isn't This A Movie ??

WOW WOW WOWWW .. that was really adorable and so .. freaking .. cuuutteeee
So the story is about Cara who can't find anyone to date for her cousins wedding .. and she just wants a plus one with her .. one day she was at a restaurant and she got stood up by her date .. again, come a guy Milsy, he tells her she needs a makeover and even offers to be her plus one .. if she accept to be his plus one, so a deal is strike and the adventure begins
I can't emphasize how much I loved this book .. it was cute and filled with heart warming moments, definitely will check out more of this author

The narrator was simply AMAZING !! .. she is excellent in every sense of the word so glad she was chosen for this book because they are a perfect match :D

21 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for hhpnw
  • hhpnw
  • 01-10-21

Not as cheesy as I thought

I thought this was going to follow the same old script. But it was more insightful and refreshing than I anticipated. Really quite enjoyable. Also I liked the narrator. They did a good job.

14 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Patrice
  • Patrice
  • 21-09-21

Funny and witty

I really enjoyed this book. It was funny and witty, it was hard not to fall in love with the characters. The narrator was fabulous.

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Terry W-C
  • Terry W-C
  • 16-10-21

I liked

Funny. Good narration and one sex scene that doesn’t give e in depth details. Love a book that makes me laugh.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Xameroun
  • Xameroun
  • 15-09-20

Great narrator.

Fun book. Nice light read with a few twists likable people. Great narrator for audio book

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ready2Read
  • Ready2Read
  • 11-07-22

Oh the hilarity!

This was my first time reading Ms. McIntosh. I needed something to listen to while working & this book was absolutely hilarious, especially when they’re at the Gender Reveal party. I had tears rolling down my face laughing at Cara & Millsy’s shenanigans. Loved their wittiness & banter. I will be reading more by this author.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for 3blue1pink
  • 3blue1pink
  • 11-07-22

Meh. And it didn't improve.

Repetitive story plots, cliche moments (esp. the beginning) and is somewhat slow. (There is cursing in this British book and the Lord's name in vain which increases in freq.) If the writer & editor had worked a bit more to tweak a bit I think it really could have been cute, but it was too obsessed over looks and lacked substance. The hero was too perfect to be believed. The plotline became obvious early, halfway through I wanted to just get it over with. I stayed to the end, occasionally skipping 30 seconds here and there and eventually two chapters before the last when I was tired of the main character rehashing the same thoughts. I think the concept & outline was good, but the quality was low. Narrator: She has nice variety to accents, though I didn't like her readings for the male parts. A male reader would have brought an enhanced likeability to his character. Also, she emphasized words too enthusiastically at times, which changed the meaning.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Tinkerbell
  • Tinkerbell
  • 07-07-22

Sweet

Sweet but boring. There was no sexual tension or chemistry between the main characters, until Bam!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 11-07-22

Slow going

The narrater was excellent and the only reason I kept going. The book is Not very entertaining.

1 person found this helpful