Try an audiobook on us

The Perfect Girlfriend

Narrated by: Anna Friel
Length: 9 hrs and 29 mins
4 out of 5 stars (189 ratings)
Regular price: £19.99
£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

You've never heard a love story as twisted as this.

The must-listen thriller of 2018.... Perfect for fans of The Woman in the Window, Anatomy of a Scandal, and TThe Girl Before.

Meet Juliette. She's intelligent, driven, committed - and in love.

Juliette loves Nate.

She will follow him anywhere. She's even become a flight attendant for his airline, so she can keep a closer eye on him.

They are meant to be. The fact that Nate broke up with her six months ago means nothing.

Because Juliette has a plan to win him back.

She is the perfect girlfriend. And she'll make sure no one stops her from getting exactly what she wants.

True love hurts, but Juliette knows it's worth all the pain....

©2018 Karen Hamilton (P)2018 Headline Publishing Group Ltd

Critic reviews

"Brilliant and terrifying." (Fiona Cummins, author of Rattle)
"So addictive it should come with a warning." (Alice Feeney, author of Sometimes I Lie)
"One of the best twisted narrators I've ever read." (C.J. Tudor, author of The Chalk Man)

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    81
  • 4 Stars
    52
  • 3 Stars
    31
  • 2 Stars
    13
  • 1 Stars
    12

Performance

  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    73
  • 4 Stars
    28
  • 3 Stars
    29
  • 2 Stars
    10
  • 1 Stars
    40

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    86
  • 4 Stars
    50
  • 3 Stars
    28
  • 2 Stars
    12
  • 1 Stars
    3
Sort by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars

Narrators voice ruins the audibook!

The storyline is quite enjoyable but the narrator keeps making these awful nasal sounds that are so irritating I had to stop listening!

18 of 18 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Not sure

On the whole, I quite enjoyed this but the narration is dire. Hated listening to all the ‘mouth noises ‘ coming from Anna Friel. Plus long gaps between words. I will give a wide berth to any books read by Ms Friel

12 of 12 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Let down by poor narration

I was so looking forward to listening to this book which had been well reviewed pre publication. However it is very difficult to give a fair review of the book as it is so badly let down by the appalling narration. There are many pauses, the narration is slow and dragged out and Anna Friel constantly swallows and slurps. Disappointing !

7 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

couldn't listen

can't tell if Anna friel had a cold or wasn't interested but along with the sighing smacking of lips and other noises was impossible to tolerate

5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Distracted by the Narration.

Would you try another book written by Karen Hamilton or narrated by Anna Friel?

By Karen Hamilton, yes.

Read by Anna Friel, probably not.

Any additional comments?

I think this was a good story, but Anna’s constant swallowing was extremely distracting. She left long gaps in between words, for no apparent reason. I was expecting better, but I just couldn’t cope with hearing her frequent swallowing.

15 of 17 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Dire Narrative

This has been totally destroyed by the narrative by Anna Friel who sounds like she is eating swallowing the whole time. I may try it as a physical book. Will return to Audible.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

read the reviews!

I never leave reviews however usually do read them. I didn't with this book to my regret. The story itself is good but the narrator is awful sounds like she is eating and drinking throughout. SO off putting!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Awful narration

This book is totally spoiled by the terrible narrator, it sounds as though she’s eating the whole way through, constant swallowing noises and strange pauses make this very unpleasant to listen to. The story itself is good but I highly recommend reading this rather than listening to it. I am very disappointed in this as potentially could be great, i found it pretty much unlistenable too

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Anna Friel absolutely ruins it!

What would have made The Perfect Girlfriend better?

I was distracted from a basically sound story by Anna Friel's simply dreadful narration. She mis-pronounced words and she sounded as though she had a cold throughout. Friel left pauses between words in sentences that just shouldn't have been there and I was really put off by her constant swallowing noises and pronunciation. I couldn't wait to get to the end for all the wrong reasons. Whoever decided to use Friel as narrator has done the author Karen Hamilton a huge disservice. I would honestly avoid any other book read by Friel. Her voice was awful!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

terrible long slow boring am

slow repetitive and the narrator sounded like she was drinking and eating throughout and not in parts where she was drinking or eating. Hard going did not enjoy at all.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful