Listen free for 30 days

The Paper Bracelet

Narrated by: Jacqueline Milne
Length: 12 hrs and 51 mins
5 out of 5 stars (5 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

From the number-one best-selling Irish author Rachael English, a warm, heartrending novel, inspired by real events and perfect for fans of Maeve Binchy, Cathy Kelly and Kathryn Hughes.  

The box held their bracelets. Her heart held their stories....

For almost 50 years, Katie Carroll has kept a box tucked away inside her wardrobe. It dates from her time working as a nurse in a west of Ireland mother and baby home in the 1960s. 

The box contains a notebook holding the details of the babies and young women she met there. It also holds many of the babies' identity bracelets. Following the death of her husband, Katie makes a decision. The information she possesses could help reunite adopted people with their birth mothers, and she decides to post a message on an internet forum. 

Soon the replies are rolling in, and Katie finds herself returning many of the bracelets to their original owners. She encounters success and failure, heartbreak and joy. But is she prepared for old secrets to be uncovered in her own life? 

©2020 Rachael English (P)2020 Headline Publishing Group Ltd

Critic reviews

"A true storyteller who keeps you turning the pages." (Cathy Kelly)   

What members say
Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.