Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £19.99

Buy Now for £19.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

Can friendship save them in their time of need?

A heart-warming World War Two family saga of friendship and hope in the face of adversity, perfect for fans of Maureen Lee and Lyn Andrews.

©2019 Lilly Robbins (P)2019 Orion Publishing Group

More from the same

What listeners say about The Nightingales in Mersey Square

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

WW2 Historical Romance

I loved this book. Not my usual read - I tend to go for nonfiction - but I was interested in this as it’s set in my hometown of Stockport, North West England. The local history was fascinating & I didn’t realise Stockport took in evacuees during WW2. The author obviously has a soft spot for Stockport (her husband’s hometown) as she writes about it very fondly. The community spirit is inspiring &, whilst we are currently experiencing the burden of Covid-19, I have to say Stockport currently has a great, & generous, community today. I would happily read any other books by this author. She has opened up a whole new genre to me!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Heartwarming

Very much enjoyed this one - the time and place feels very vivid, and the characters all come across authentically.