Listen free for 30 days

  • The Night Away

  • By: Jess Ryder
  • Narrated by: Rosamund Hine
  • Length: 10 hrs and 39 mins
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars (88 ratings)

Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
The Night Away cover art

The Night Away

By: Jess Ryder
Narrated by: Rosamund Hine
Try for £0.00

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £18.99

Buy Now for £18.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Listeners also enjoyed...

The Ex-Wife cover art
The Girl You Gave Away cover art
The Good Sister cover art
The Dream House cover art
The Second Marriage cover art
Lie to Me cover art
My Husband's Lover cover art
One Bad Thing cover art
Her Husband's Mistake cover art
The Doctor's Wife cover art
The Lodge cover art
The Night of the Sleepover cover art
The Wedding Guest cover art
The Engagement cover art
The Perfect Girlfriend cover art
When You Find Me cover art

Summary

Their baby was supposed to be mine....

No relationship is perfect. But since the birth of baby Mabel seven months ago, Amber and George have been in desperate need of a night away. Mabel is all that Amber has ever wanted, but she can’t deny that sometimes she struggles to cope. George has booked them into a luxury hotel, and Amber’s sister is babysitting. Yet just as they are ready to leave, Amber can’t suppress a feeling of worry....

Amber is right to be anxious. Because as she and George sip cocktails at the hotel bar, what she doesn’t know is that her little girl is in terrible danger. Somebody has been following her every move, taking note of her habits. Somebody who desperately wants a child of their own. Somebody who believes that Mabel is supposed to be theirs.

When Amber’s sister reports that Mabel’s crib is empty, Amber’s world implodes. She knows that if her baby is not found, she will never forgive her sister.

But Amber also has a secret, hidden from those she loves. Is the only person who knows the truth out to make her pay? Amber will do whatever it takes to get her daughter back...but could her lies have put her little girl at risk?

A truly gripping psychological thriller of manipulation and betrayal from best-selling author Jess Ryder. The Night Away will have you hooked until the final devastating revelation. Perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train or The Woman in the Window.

©2020 Jess Ryder (P)2020 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

What listeners say about The Night Away

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    54
  • 4 Stars
    25
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    55
  • 4 Stars
    18
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    47
  • 4 Stars
    21
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Terrible ending

What an absolutely awful ending! No twist, no cliffhanger, no surprises.
Every character bar Ruby is a narcissist.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Amazing!

Completely addictive. Best book I’ve listened to in a long time. Even though I thought I know what was going on quite early on it kept me guessing and had lots of surprises.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

A Good Listen

Good plot and good narration make this an incredible read. I enjoyed the characters and the chapter variation from different character points of view.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Hooked

A great listen. All round very good. The conclusion didn't drag either. Going to get another by this author and narrator if I can

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Worth a credit!

Best audio book I've listened to in a while.
Quite disappointed in the ending ,a shame but lots of unexpected action and storyline mostly very good .
Refreshing to listen to a mystery that does not involve full on sex, gory details of murder etc
Definitely worth reading/listening to

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Absolutely loved it!

Not usually a fan of ‘missing child’ books. They get a bit repetitive: the anxious mother, the angry father, the calm yet assertive detective who never actually achieves anything. But this one was very different, especially since the author took the time to introduce the child and get to know them. By the time they were taken, I’d become quite attached to her and was heartbroken for the parents. The twists were quite unexpected and the main characters very relatable. Definitely recommend.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Lock down friend

Very enjoyable, well written and keeps you guessing. So worth a listen. Something to look forward in a time when little else available to us, a real lockdown friend 👍

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

hooked from the start

storyline is fab, kept me guessing until the end! I really liked this narrator, there were a few characters both male and female and I think she read them well

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Great story spoiled by ap rubbish ending

slow to start with but stick with it as the story builds and builds lots of twists and turns and a really good narrater, all this was spoiled however by a rushed ending that wasn't plausible, which is why only 4 stars, bit more time on the final ending of the book and it would have been my favourite of the year so far as it keeps you guessing and makes you want to know what happens next.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Not the greatest but finished

I really enjoy this authors book. the ex wife was fantastic but struggled with this book. the story line was ok. it followed a few books with simular stories. the characters were predictable and seems the ending was wrapped up in one chapter.
not much thought went into it. I found i was saying to myself 'well that wouldn't happen in real life'
an ok book but finished anyway

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!