Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £22.89

Buy Now for £22.89

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

Their baby was supposed to be mine....

No relationship is perfect. But since the birth of baby Mabel seven months ago, Amber and George have been in desperate need of a night away. Mabel is all that Amber has ever wanted, but she can’t deny that sometimes she struggles to cope. George has booked them into a luxury hotel, and Amber’s sister is babysitting. Yet just as they are ready to leave, Amber can’t suppress a feeling of worry....

Amber is right to be anxious. Because as she and George sip cocktails at the hotel bar, what she doesn’t know is that her little girl is in terrible danger. Somebody has been following her every move, taking note of her habits. Somebody who desperately wants a child of their own. Somebody who believes that Mabel is supposed to be theirs.

When Amber’s sister reports that Mabel’s crib is empty, Amber’s world implodes. She knows that if her baby is not found, she will never forgive her sister.

But Amber also has a secret, hidden from those she loves. Is the only person who knows the truth out to make her pay? Amber will do whatever it takes to get her daughter back...but could her lies have put her little girl at risk?

A truly gripping psychological thriller of manipulation and betrayal from best-selling author Jess Ryder. The Night Away will have you hooked until the final devastating revelation. Perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train or The Woman in the Window.

©2020 Jess Ryder (P)2020 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

What listeners say about The Night Away

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    49
  • 4 Stars
    24
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    50
  • 4 Stars
    17
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    42
  • 4 Stars
    20
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Terrible ending

What an absolutely awful ending! No twist, no cliffhanger, no surprises.
Every character bar Ruby is a narcissist.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Amazing!

Completely addictive. Best book I’ve listened to in a long time. Even though I thought I know what was going on quite early on it kept me guessing and had lots of surprises.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

A Good Listen

Good plot and good narration make this an incredible read. I enjoyed the characters and the chapter variation from different character points of view.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Hooked

A great listen. All round very good. The conclusion didn't drag either. Going to get another by this author and narrator if I can

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Worth a credit!

Best audio book I've listened to in a while.
Quite disappointed in the ending ,a shame but lots of unexpected action and storyline mostly very good .
Refreshing to listen to a mystery that does not involve full on sex, gory details of murder etc
Definitely worth reading/listening to

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Absolutely loved it!

Not usually a fan of ‘missing child’ books. They get a bit repetitive: the anxious mother, the angry father, the calm yet assertive detective who never actually achieves anything. But this one was very different, especially since the author took the time to introduce the child and get to know them. By the time they were taken, I’d become quite attached to her and was heartbroken for the parents. The twists were quite unexpected and the main characters very relatable. Definitely recommend.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Lock down friend

Very enjoyable, well written and keeps you guessing. So worth a listen. Something to look forward in a time when little else available to us, a real lockdown friend 👍

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Great story spoiled by ap rubbish ending

slow to start with but stick with it as the story builds and builds lots of twists and turns and a really good narrater, all this was spoiled however by a rushed ending that wasn't plausible, which is why only 4 stars, bit more time on the final ending of the book and it would have been my favourite of the year so far as it keeps you guessing and makes you want to know what happens next.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Not the greatest but finished

I really enjoy this authors book. the ex wife was fantastic but struggled with this book. the story line was ok. it followed a few books with simular stories. the characters were predictable and seems the ending was wrapped up in one chapter.
not much thought went into it. I found i was saying to myself 'well that wouldn't happen in real life'
an ok book but finished anyway

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for MA Reviewer
  • MA Reviewer
  • 11-11-20

4.5 Stars!

THE NIGHT AWAY was a fast-paced psychological thriller with many twists and turns.

Yes, it only takes one night to destroy a family and this book is EXHIBIT A. Author Jess Ryder did an excellent job pacing the storyline and developing an intriguing plot with compelling characters. Although most of the characters were not very likable (with the exception of younger sister Ruby), I really felt like I knew each character's pains/challenges and understood where they were coming from.

Also notable was the author's decision to unfold the storyline with multiple POVs from the main characters. Sometimes using this strategy makes a book difficult to follow but this author made it work.

The book's narration was superb.

This book's ending is why this book did not earn a 5-star review from me. The ending was abrupt, contrived, and borderline disjointed. I felt like the author lost steam in the last stretch (been there, done that!) and this was disappointing.

This was my first Jess Ryder book and I will certainly be looking forward to enjoying this writer's future books.

16 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for DeRoseBreathe
  • DeRoseBreathe
  • 19-03-21

Enjoyed it

Listened to this nonstop over a period of a day and a half while doing this and that so I would have to back it up to make sure I didn’t miss anything. And then finally when everything was done I finally got to go though it straight on. I liked it. I liked the twists and the sisters getting along and the caring and I appreciate the author going easy on the cuss words and no sex scenes. It was awesome! I want a good story not a book on sex and cussing. So thank you. Just I don’t get it as to why is the cuss word always Jesus’ name? When I was a nasty cusser I cussed a lot. But never Gods name or Jesus’ name. I just don’t get that one. Anyhow I like how all the characters ended up having their own story behind the story. This is my first book by her. Hope others follow same pattern.

11 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for horslovr
  • horslovr
  • 15-06-21

This should be called The Waste Of A Night

I can’t believe that this inane book got any positive reviews. What a waste of a credit and my time. I held out thinking it was going to get better- it did not.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Wendi
  • Wendi
  • 12-01-21

Solid Thriller- Title Is Deceiving

The Night Away was a fairly good read and I enjoyed it. I wish that the title of the book were different, because I think it sort of throws off the reader/listener. There is indeed a night away where the main couple in the book go for a mini break but it seems really minor and not important to the story.

The book is about a baby being kidnapped while sister babysits for an exhausted couple. It's fairly fast paced, but the characters aren't the most likable, and the story itself is a bit underwhelming yet still, a solid psychological thriller.

-Wendi

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for cyndi
  • cyndi
  • 14-04-21

Great story

Great story I thoroughly enjoyed it. But the ending was a huge let down. Leaves you hanging.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ciara B.
  • Ciara B.
  • 23-06-21

So boring

It took everything I had in me to get through this book. So bad. Dragged on and on and on and on. Don’t waste a credit!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amy Hall
  • Amy Hall
  • 17-06-21

Great read!

Very pleased with this book. Couldn't stop listening until finished. Loved it! Can't wait to read more of this author. Worth the credit!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for VinMo
  • VinMo
  • 03-06-21

Loved it - not a dull moment

I loved this book. Totally engrossing - the tension was steady throughout… finished it in less than 24 hours 😬. I’m going to try out the author’s book that’s previewed at the end of this one (I think it’s called The Ex-wife) ASAP because even though the book is done, I am not.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Antoinette Garcia
  • Antoinette Garcia
  • 16-07-21

Predictable

Narration had barely any distinction between characters, story was stale and predictable. Save your credit.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for amanda harris
  • amanda harris
  • 27-06-21

Worth the credit!

Interesting story, many twists, great narrator. This story kept my attention & I was sad when it ended.

1 person found this helpful