Listen free for 30 days

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

In the distance Leah heard sirens. She ignored them. Right now, her daughter needed her, and Emily was just out of reach, curled up under the bed, her eyes closed, desperately shaking. Leah did the only thing any mother would do. She crawled through the blood to get to her daughter.

Dr. Leah Wright returned to her childhood home in rural Pennsylvania with her husband to find peace and quiet, start afresh, and raise her six-year-old daughter Emily. But when she gets home one dark winter night, clutching roses in her hand, she finds her daughter huddled under her bed and her husband’s blood all over the floor....

When Detective Luka Jericho is called to investigate, he’s shocked to learn that the killer left a witness behind - the victim’s young daughter. The scene is a painful reminder of his fiancé’s unsolved death, and he is desperate to find out what Emily saw that night. He knows that the killer could still be out there, waiting to strike again.

But growing up, Leah learned the hard way that the only person she could rely on was herself. And it’s not until she and Emily are attacked again that she realizes just how close the killer is. Can she trust Luka to keep her daughter safe?

Fans of Karin Slaughter, Kendra Elliot, and Tess Gerritsen will devour this fast-paced and chilling new crime series from New York Times best-selling author CJ Lyons. You won’t be able to stop listening to this audiobook.

©2020 CJ Lyons (P)2020 Bookouture

Critic reviews

“A pulse-pounding adrenaline rush.” (Lisa Gardner, New York Times best-selling author)  

“Everything a great thriller should be - action-packed, authentic, and intense.” (Lee Child, number one New York Times best-selling author)  

“Compelling.... I love how the characters come alive.” (Jeffery Deaver, New York Times best-selling author)

What listeners say about The Next Widow

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Michael
  • Michael
  • 09-08-20

Good story but hampered by a terrible narrator

The story was good although I figured out whodunit about half-way in. The narrator, Barbara Barnes is God awful!! Too many mispronunciations for my liking. January Lavoy would have been a much better choice.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Dtmurphy1
  • Dtmurphy1
  • 30-07-20

the story was pretty good but

the narrator was below par. I'll probably get the next of it has a different narrator.