Listen free for 30 days

The New Girl

Narrated by: Sarah Kants
Length: 8 hrs and 39 mins
3.5 out of 5 stars (4 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

You’ve only just met.

But she already knows you so well.

When Rachel moves into the spare room in Mary’s flat, everyone is quick to jump to the conclusion that there’s something strange about her. Everyone apart from Mary.

And when Rachel starts sleepwalking, the flatmates’ fears grow. But there’s something about the new girl that Mary can’t help but trust, and having recently escaped a toxic relationship, she needs the support.

Rachel becomes a friend and an ally, and Mary soon discovers that they have more in common than she ever could have imagined.

In fact, Rachel seems to know more about Mary than she knows about herself....

A twisty and unnerving psychological thriller, perfect for fans of Erin Kelly’s He Said, She Said and Laura Marshall’s Friend Request.

©2018 Ingrid Alexandra (P)2018 HarperCollins Publishers

Critic reviews

"What an addictive novel! A compelling page-turner filled with suspense. I didn't know who I could trust, so I mistrusted everyone - and my feelings towards each character changed throughout thanks to Ingrid Alexandra's clever plotting and characterisation. A thoroughly enjoyable and satisfying read." (Sam Carrington)

"Ingrid Alexandra creates incredible tension from page one. A thoroughly unsettling read - in the best way possible!" (Sarah Bailey)

"I couldn't stop reading it...The writing is very assured, and the plotting is like a clock. The New Girl is a thrilling debut, with the most shocking twist since The Girl on the Train." (Ruth Dugdall, CWA Debut Dagger winner)

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 2.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jenn
  • Jenn
  • 05-10-18

Wasn’t for me, but I really wanted it to!

I read a few reviews for the hard copy of the book when it came out before the audio and a lot of people admitted that they really wanted to like the book because of the title and the cover art — which of course we all know we shouldn’t do... but I’m reluctant to say that I too was one of those people. Unfortunately, there was just not enough depth to the plot. There was a lack of character development and the overall tone wasn’t capturing. I really gave this book a fair shot too, some of those positive reviews I read said it just took a bit to get into but I wasn’t able to do so. There also wasn’t any real urgency or build up, it was more of a mood of “consistent threat” if that make sense, so when exciting or dramatic things occurred, I wasn’t surprised. Also, timelines and other details were a little confusing. I think whole presentation of the book exuded a certain appeal that was slightly misleading. Because of the other high ratings I wouldn’t be surprised if more end up liking the audio book as well. I for sure would NOT recommend it, but I wouldn’t prevent anyone from getting it if it’s already in ur cart and you’re right about to hit the buy button. I’m interested to check back and see how this books ends up doing on Audible.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful