Listen free for 30 days

Listen with offer

  • The Guest Room

  • By: Rona Halsall
  • Narrated by: Emma Gregory
  • Length: 8 hrs and 45 mins
  • 4.2 out of 5 stars (34 ratings)

Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
The Guest Room cover art

The Guest Room

By: Rona Halsall
Narrated by: Emma Gregory
Try for £0.00

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £14.99

Buy Now for £14.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Listeners also enjoyed...

The New Girl cover art
The Wife Next Door cover art
The Invite cover art
One Mistake cover art
The Liar's Daughter cover art
Her Mother's Lies cover art
The Life She Wants cover art
The Night of the Sleepover cover art
The Baby Shower cover art
The Perfect Girlfriend cover art
The Party at Number 12 cover art
The Lodge cover art
The Bedroom Window cover art
The Wedding Guest cover art
Do I Really Know You? cover art
The False Princess cover art

Summary

You think you’re safe in your home. You’re wrong.

Ever since Steph’s husband walked out after a 30-year marriage, home hasn’t felt like a safe haven. Her daughter, Bea, thinks she’s imagining things. But Steph knows that the noises in the night, the open windows she knows she left closed, the strange smell in the kitchen - none of it feels right.

Then her house is broken into, and a young man named Noah helps her fix the front window. He’s fallen on hard times and Steph impulsively offers him a place to stay. At least if he is there, she won’t be home alone.

Before long Noah is living in Bea’s old bedroom, paying rent, and getting his life back on track. Steph’s ex-husband and Bea are furious. But Steph feels secure at last.

Until the strange things start happening once more.

Until it becomes clear someone will stop at nothing to make her never, ever feel safe again.

The most twisty thriller of the year - perfect for fans of Lisa Jewell, Mark Edwards, and Gone Girl.

Listeners are loving The Guest Room:

"OMG, you always know that you are starting on one hell of an emotional roller coaster ride whenever you start reading one of Rona Halsall’s incredible thrillers and The Guest Room is no exception.... Addictive.... Once I started, I couldn’t put down and simply had to read in one sitting.... Very very highly recommended and definitely one of my favourite reads of this year." (Nicki’s Life of Crime)

©2022 Rona Halsall (P)2022 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

What listeners say about The Guest Room

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    17
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    11
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    13
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant!!!😁👏🏽🤗

Love Rona Halsall. I always enjoy her books and they ALWAYS have twists/turns which shock you! This one was the same🤗😁I couldn’t stop listening, it has you hooked from start to finish. I couldn’t stop till I found out all the answers and i love when that happens 🤗😁thouroughly enjoyed this and im gutted it’s finished 😩☹️ Emma Gregory was OUTSTANDING! She done so many different voices SO brilliantly!!! She is one narrator I remember well because she reads perfectly! Thank you Rona, Thank you Emma, and thank you audible for another AMAZING book!!!👏🏽keep them coming Rona🤗🙏🏽😊♥️xxx

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Unsettling goings on!

Nice cosy start to this book but soon starts to become a bit unsettling. Lots of twists and turns and a few red herrings chucked in to keep you guessing. Narrator did a nice job of most of the characters although the daughters competing voice was itrritsting . I liked that there were no loose ends left flapping in the breeze.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Good story line

Good story line, I didn't enjoy it as much as I thought I would though.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Fabulous!

A very well narrated novel! Thoroughly enjoyable & didn't want it to end!
A bit shocked to learn that the nail character Steph was only 55 though! That's my age & I hope I don't sound about 70!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Soooo good

Loved this so much, struggled with the accents, northern and West Country, not my favourite but got used to them.
Must read

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Oh dear

Far from as good as some of Rona Halsall's books. Starts and ends with an unbelievably weak main character (I found her really annoying). Much of the book really seems to drag on and then of course in the last quarter it finally gets somewhere. 2 star at best.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful