Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £14.99

Buy Now for £14.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

Twenty years running from your past. Today it catches up.

A gripping psychological thriller for fans of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train.

Leah Mills lives a life of a fugitive - kept on the run by one terrible day from her past. It is a lonely life, without a social life or friends until, longing for a connection, she meets Julian.

For the first time she dares to believe she can live a normal life. Then, on the 20th anniversary of that day, she receives a card. Someone knows the truth about what happened. Someone who won't stop until they've destroyed the life Leah has created. But is Leah all she seems? Or does she deserve everything she gets?

Everyone has secrets. But some are deadly.

The Girl with No Past spent over four weeks at number one in the Amazon chart.

©2015 Kathryn Croft (P)2016 Audible, Ltd

What listeners say about The Girl with No Past

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    159
  • 4 Stars
    82
  • 3 Stars
    55
  • 2 Stars
    15
  • 1 Stars
    13
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    178
  • 4 Stars
    73
  • 3 Stars
    30
  • 2 Stars
    9
  • 1 Stars
    5
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    136
  • 4 Stars
    82
  • 3 Stars
    45
  • 2 Stars
    20
  • 1 Stars
    14

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Readable but not memorable

I enjoyed this book in parts and it had the potential to be a captivating thriller. Told in first person, the story flits between events in the past and events in the present. However, I found so many of the actions of the main character completely unrealistic, far more than bad judgement and just ended up irritated. I wanted to read to the end to gather all the pieces of the story but I wasn't wowed by the quality of the language, which as it's told in first person is speech like. Readable definitely but I'm glad it was on sale.

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Some great twists but triggering

At first I thought I had picked a teenage book by mistake, I even went back and checked the description to make sure!
At certain times I wanted to keep reading and finding out more, at other times I found it hard to pick up due to the content being triggering and dark
I find the thriller genre difficult as I enjoy many but some can be triggering
Guessed Adam’s character type early on
Did not expect either twist at the end though! Great twists!
The end was relieving - not because it was over but in terms of the character’s future
Agree with the other reviewer found it hard to continue after teacher scene
Maybe should just carry a trigger warning or more detailed blurb

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Amazing

I can't believe this Audible Book,slipped through the net! It was so well narrated and for me brought the characters alive. I raced along with the twists and turns. Yes I did manage to guess the culprit, however I needed to find out if I was correct. It's one of those storylines that you struggle to put down. It doesn't ruin the novel even if you guess, as there are other pieces that need to be tied up. I don't normally enjoy books that skip back and forth. This was written in such a way that was not too confusing and relevant throughout! Extra bargain price in the £3 sale. Not everybody's cup of tea, I expect and can see from some of the reviews, although that is understandable. Not all of the population like the colour red 😂 for £3 I can't see any real disappointed listeners out there. So make the most of the sale and go for it.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Disappointing ending

I was really enjoying this but found the end really disappointing. I won’t say why as that would spoil it. It was compared with the likes of Gillian Flynn novels which it shouldn’t be because it’s not in the same league.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Worth a listen

I did like this book. I didn’t find it exciting, or nerve wracking or anything but a few twists which were enjoyable. The narrator was good and easy to listen to.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Oh wow

I don’t normally leave reviews. I just couldn’t stop listening. What a gripping story. Listen

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Harrowing

A disturbing story read by a monotone narrator. Nevertheless I recommend seeing it through to the end.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Tense Mystery

Young woman haunted by her past mistakes finds someone wants to make her pay for them now. Great captivating story. Excellent narrator.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Shame about the abrupt ending.

I took a chance on this audio book having never come across the author before but I am a big fan of the narrator so I thought I'd give it a go.
As psychological thrillers go, it is a slow burner with just enough going on to keep you listening but nothing happening that makes you sit on the edge of your seat.
I found the ending, although a good twist, to be abrupt and it left me feeling there should have been another few chapters to end things off properly hence my rating of 3 stars. I think if there had been more closure at the end of the book I'd have rated it 4 stars.
Worth a listen though and the narration is supurb, but you might find the ending is a bit of an anticlimax.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

loved it

there were mixed reviews on this. however, I loved it, from beginning to end

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Phyllis
  • Phyllis
  • 16-11-16

Dribbling the Plot

The author can write well with a wonderful turn of phrase but she needs some help with the plot. The later story was a solid mystery if a bit predictable but chapter after chapter of the earlier story was badly paced. I kept thinking, "Get to the point already...". The early story was needlessly tedious. The ending was also no big surprise.

Narration was spectacular.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jamie Garfield
  • Jamie Garfield
  • 28-12-17

Exciting Until The End!!

I really loved this book, as I do everything I’ve read by her. This was my 4th Croft title and I enjoyed even more than the prior 3. I loved the way the story altered between flashbacks and current time and slowly built the story and background at the same time. I also really loved The narrator. The ending was a surprise and I really loved how we were given closure for the main character!

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Hayley
  • Hayley
  • 08-09-16

Good book!

A bit slower than my usual selection, but great story! I would definitely recommend it.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Krity
  • Krity
  • 13-11-16

S l o w

I just kept waiting and waiting for this book to get better- it did towards the end. But the end.... ugh.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for ScoobyBoo
  • ScoobyBoo
  • 05-12-17

Mind blowing!

Loved this book. Incredibly written and narrated! An absolutely must read (or listen) with great twists

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for cireland
  • cireland
  • 21-11-17

Struggling for self-acceptance

It was slow listening to the protagonist’s maladaptive response to an awful event that is not fully explained till the very end.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Fern L. Burg
  • Fern L. Burg
  • 22-09-17

Heart-Pounding Read

If you love psychological thrillers, this is a real page-turner and worth your time. Highly recommended for it's taut and emotionally-believable narration of the story. It makes you wonder who is responsible for what and keeps you guessing throughout until the end, which is unexpected but seems believable. Love Lisa Coleman's narration.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mary K
  • Mary K
  • 01-05-17

Just Average

I didn't love this book. The narrator did a good job but the story was ... not great. The main character is weak not to mention the worst judge of character ever. The supporting characters (high school friends) are annoying. I kept waiting for something to happen. It did pick up a little towards the end but, overall, I wasn't very impressed.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for RW
  • RW
  • 24-05-19

Not great

I usually like this author's books but I really didn't care for this one. I had a difficult time getting through it. It was pretty boring and the ending wasn't exciting enough to make up for it. The main character was difficult to connect with too.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Megan
  • Megan
  • 28-12-16

I had high hopes

The story had potential and I stuck with it, hoping it would finally take off. It didn't.

3 people found this helpful