Listen free for 30 days

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Sunday Times Crime Book Club Pick.

Mail on Sunday Thriller of the Week.

Sixty-two days after the disappearance...

A man is arrested in the small town of Avechot. His shirt is covered in blood. Could this have anything to do with a missing girl called Anna Lou? 

What really happened to the girl? 

Detective Vogel will do anything to solve the mystery surrounding Anna Lou's disappearance. When a media storm hits the quiet town, Vogel is sure that the suspect will be flushed out. Yet the clues are confusing, perhaps false, and following them may be a far cry from discovering the truth at the heart of a dark town. 

For fans of Donna Leon and Michele Giuttari, get ready for the crime thriller of the year!  

©2017 Howard Curtis, Donato Carrisi (P)2017 Hachette Audio UK

Critic reviews

"A coldly brilliant exposé of the depths of human nature." (Sunday Times)

"Compelling, beautifully constructed and atmospheric." (Daily Mail)

"Carrisi is an expert at misdirection...this is a thoroughly disconcerting, addictive thriller guaranteed to freeze your soul." (Metro)  

What listeners say about The Girl in the Fog

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Not as good as the Lost Girls of Rome

There are twists and turns, but the last two out three hours of the narration are adding to the volume rather than flow of the story

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mark
  • Mark
  • 07-07-19

Donato Carrisi and narrator John Telfer have

Donato Carrisi and narrator John Telfer have produced and interesting murder mystery. It slows at times but the plot contains some surprising twists and turns. Not exactly a page turner but entertaining all the same.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anastasia
  • Anastasia
  • 06-12-18

Like breathing under water

The reading of this novel is like breathing under water, like walking in a desert and not feeling thirsty. It’s like finding the track where you came after a storm. Very well written, very good story. A time well spent.