Listen free for 30 days

The Forbidden Garden

A Novel
Narrated by: Fiona Hardingham
Length: 8 hrs and 51 mins
Categories: Fiction, Literary
3 out of 5 stars (2 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Sarah Jio, this lush imaginative novel takes listeners into the heart of a mysterious English country garden waiting to spring to life.

Every garden is a story waiting to be told....

At the nursery she runs with her sisters on the New England coast, Sorrel Sparrow has honed her rare gift for nurturing plants and flowers. Now that reputation, and a stroke of good timing, lands Sorrel an unexpected opportunity: reviving a long-dormant Shakespearean garden on an English country estate.

Arriving at Kirkwood Hall, ancestral home of Sir Graham Kirkwood and his wife, Stella, Sorrel is shocked by the desolate state of the walled garden. Generations have tried - and failed - to bring it back to glory. Sorrel senses heartbreak and betrayal here, perhaps even enchantment.

Intrigued by the house's history - especially the haunting tapestries that grace its walls - and increasingly drawn to Stella's enigmatic brother, Sorrel sets to work. And though she knows her true home is across the sea with her sisters, instinct tells her that the English garden's destiny is entwined with her own, if she can only unravel its secrets....

©2017 Ellen Herrick (P)2017 HarperCollins Publishers

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jamie
  • Jamie
  • 21-10-19

im not a Fabio fan.... too much blah blah blah...<br />

oh? she can't control her longing and he hints at everlasting love..... blah blah...... romance novels make me cringe.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Audy Meadow Davison LMT
  • Audy Meadow Davison LMT
  • 29-09-18

The wting is amazing, fragrant, sensual, unique

I so loved the writing and all the smells and flowers, and herbs and the sensory delights that they offered. I wanted the reader to slow down and let me savor all these delicacies. But the narrator seemed to be a great hurry to finish the story and the story itself was a little outrageous and too typically a romance to keep me engaged beyond a certain point.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for lesley ann
  • lesley ann
  • 20-05-17

thoroughly enjoyable. will listen again!

beautiful story especially for anyone who appreciates thinking hearing musing about Gardens and growing gardens. I believe this narration was the best narration that I've ever heard on audio books. I am going to look for more books narrated by this reader.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 02-01-19

Sweet and mysterious

This was a lovely story. One can't help but fall in love with the characters. I hope there's another one with more of Andrew and Sorrell's story.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Michal
  • Michal
  • 05-08-17

I really really wanted to love this book

Would you try another book from Ellen Herrick and/or Fiona Hardingham?

Not sure. I would wait for reviews. After absolutely loving The Sorrel sisters, I could not wait for this book. But sadly, I was very disappointed. I simply never was interested or vested in any of the characters.

What do you think your next listen will be?

I'm reading reviews much more closely.

Did the narration match the pace of the story?

Narration was fine. The material was simply not interesting.

Do you think The Forbidden Garden needs a follow-up book? Why or why not?

No.

Any additional comments?

I almost turned the book back in for my credit back twice. But I kept thinking I was missing something. Sadly, I was not.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for kat
  • kat
  • 21-09-19

Loved it!

Easy to listen to and nice addition to the series. Looking forward to more in the series

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 06-02-19

Disappointing plot development

I liked the overall premise of this story but there were some underdeveloped ideas that made the plot line implausible. The last few chapters were painfully redundant. I liked imagining the garden that serves as the central focus, but I really can't recommend this book.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 18-06-18

another great story

I really enjoy her writing. Was a great story with lots of interesting twist and turns.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for sharigarden
  • sharigarden
  • 16-01-18

good story, great narration

I loved it. You really need to read book one first. The narration really has made the story come alive. What's next!?

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Angela
  • Angela
  • 08-10-17

Enchanting

The narrator is mesmerizing as she reads this enchanting tale. The authors painted a peaceful setting for mysterious plot. I will go back and read the first novel to hear more on the Sparrow sisters.