Regular price: £19.99

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
OR
In Basket

Summary

Author of the BBC Radio 2 Book Club best seller Better Off Dead

From best-selling author Tom Wood comes a unique and gasp-inducing Victor thriller that turns all your expectations on their head....

Former CIA agent Antonio Alvarez has been tracking a dangerous murderer for years, a nameless hitman responsible for numerous homicides. Once, the Agency deflected him away from his search, but now a promotion has given him a second chance to right the past.

Only problem is the murderer has vanished.

Thousands of miles away, the assassin known as Victor has stopped working - recently he began to care; he made mistakes. But there's another assassin, Raven, who needs his help - and she is hard to refuse....

Enter a world of betrayal, tension and twists perfect for fans of Gregg Hurwitz (Orphan X, The Nowhere Man), James Swallow (Nomad, Exile) and Terry Hayes (I Am Pilgrim, Day of the Locust).

©2017 Tom Wood (P)2017 Little Brown Book Group

Critic reviews

"Terrifically fun and explosively propulsive." (Gregg Hurwitz, author of Orphan X)
"Great, page-turning stuff." (James Swallow, author of Nomad and Exile)
"Very Few British writers are as good at the action thriller." ( Sunday Express)

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    114
  • 4 Stars
    50
  • 3 Stars
    23
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    8

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    110
  • 4 Stars
    43
  • 3 Stars
    18
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    5

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    100
  • 4 Stars
    40
  • 3 Stars
    31
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    6
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

excellent read as usual

Fab read tied up some loose ends but created some more. Hoping there are more.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Kaba
  • Europe
  • 07-09-17

Amazing series

Every book as good as last if dare I say more gripping.
I would like to give it 5 stars...
But I'm maybe too stingy.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

average

Sorry but I thought it wasn't up to Tom's usual standard. It felt a bit rushed in my opinion.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Mr
  • 09-08-17

Another great Victor story

A fresh story that ties together a lot of loose ends and brings the previous 3 books together.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Another outstanding book by Tom Wood!

Tom Wood continues to turn Victor into one of the book worlds best characters!
As Toms books grow stronger Victors story gets deeper. New characters emerge and open pathways to future storylines!
Keep up the good work Tom!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

A sharper focus needed

Really love the 'Victor' stories but this one not only started very slow but seemed to drift quite a lot.

Shame it had to be this way, but overall loyalty to the 'Victor' character means happy to wait for the next installment.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

good next instalment

lacking the quantity of action in previous books, but an entertaining reaf nevertheless. cant wait for victor 7

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Chris
  • NUNEATON, United Kingdom
  • 11-07-17

Victor Is Back With An Irish Accent !

I have waited for ages for this. When I noticed that the narrator wasn't Rob Shapiro, I realised I had been listening to the US only versions of these books .

So, it was with a heavy and impatient heart that I bought and downloaded the UK edition .
I should have waited . I lost count of how many times I groaned at the narrators inability to mimic an American accent and instead, sounding quasi Welsh/Scandinavian ( seriously, listen to it if you don't believe me) or something worse .

The storyline would have been gripping I think but insteadI got really distracted by the increasingly lumpen and vaudevillian character accents .

So please, avoid this version and wait until August when Rob Shapiro's version is released . He embodies Victor and really electrifies the prose .

Anyone else simply isn't Victor.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Victor is back

I really enjoy this series around victor
This character is dark smart and clever
Bourne meets Reacher meets one bad mo fo
Must listen book with great narration and powerful characters

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Forgettable

O ne of the worst books I have listened. I had to keep going back in the book as it lost the plot and I still don't know what the story was about. To me, it was a jumbled mess and a waste of money.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • astaire
  • 24-08-17

amazing

love all the victor assasin series
better to me than Jack teacher,john rain,gray man and Mitch rapp series loooovvve itt