Listen free for 30 days

Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
The Cove cover art

The Cove

By: Alice Clark-Platts
Narrated by: Amy Noble,Ciaran Saward
Try for £0.00

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £22.99

Buy Now for £22.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Listeners also enjoyed...

Stranded cover art
The Lodge cover art
The Resort cover art
Little Nothings cover art
A Stranger on Board cover art
The Summer Girls cover art
The Perfect Holiday cover art
The Party at Number 12 cover art
Someone You Know cover art
The Island House cover art
White Heron cover art
The Beach Party cover art
From the Deep cover art
Slice of Paradise cover art
The Secret Path cover art
The Sapphire Cove cover art

Summary

It is the perfect escape.... Until there is no escape. This is a first-class escapist thriller for fans of The Sanatorium, The Hunting Party and The Castaways.

Welcome to Turtle Cove.

A luxury resort surrounded by pristine sea and the dense beauty of the jungle, it is the perfect escape from the stresses of life and work. For couples Lou and Adam, Eliza and Noah, a few days spent relaxing on the beach, while their kids are happily distracted, is exactly what they need.

But appearances can be deceiving.

There's a strange tension brewing at the resort, with relations between the hotel and the locals threatening to spill over into violence. This is nothing though compared to the strained atmosphere between the two families. They haven't been friends for long, and they are starting to realise they don't really know each other at all.

Except for one of them. One of them knows another very well.... And they have a score to settle.

©2022 Alice Clark-Platts (P)2022 Bolinda Publishing Pty Ltd

What listeners say about The Cove

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    22
  • 4 Stars
    17
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    3
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    26
  • 4 Stars
    15
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    22
  • 4 Stars
    14
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    8
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Beautifully written - this thriller has got it all

Glamorous, luxurious tropical resort, with white sandy beaches, cocktails galore, interesting, well developed characters, mystery, murder and mayhem - this excellent thriller is choc a bloc with all my favourite things plus it is just so well written it is like plunging into the welcoming turquoise waters of the titular Cove.

This is my first Alice Clark-Platts book I have read but it certainly won't be the last as I simply adored the flawless writing, the great story structure and especially the length of the chapters which were all so well rounded and made the plot very easy to follow. The descriptions were so vivid and evocative that I really did feel I was on that island, I could see all the scenes so clearly and almost felt that sugary white sand in between my toes.

I am not usually one for thrillers with children and babies in them as I find going into all the day to day minutiae of making packed lunches, school pick ups and mithering the mundanities of nappies and bottles just seems so much like hard work it gets depressing - but this was not the case with The Cove. Yes there were 8 year olds and a baby but it never got boring and the details and events concerning the children were all relevant to the plot or to give us deeper understanding of the parent's mind set or relationship dynamic rather than just the every day grind of child care.

I really enjoyed the way the couples were described and the insight into their relationships - funny, bittersweet and so true to life and just so beautifully written it was a joy to listen to and so very moreish, even though I savoured it and tried to make it last I finished in two days.

I thought the narration was spot on and seamless so the story really was allowed to shine rather than being overacted or having mispronunciations which can just jolt you out of concentration = so that's another 5 stars right there.

Plot wise I did guess one of the twists but none of the rest and there was just so much meat on the bones of this tightly wound compelling thriller, which was all very well paced, saving reveals right up until the last minute when it all ended in a way which I certainly did not see coming.

Wow!

I really enjoyed this first class thriller and recommend it especially to those sun-starved listeners like me who are craving all the pleasure of a fabulous holiday whodunnit which will keep you guessing right up until the last minute.

Thanks so much Alice Clark-Platts - please, please, please can we have another soon and this time I might even get to read it on a beach with a large cocktail!



Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

I wanted to love this book but I didn't :(

The first half is gripping and I loved how the story began to twist and turn. Then, frankly, it loses substance. What begins as a corker ends up being a rambling mess. Such a shame.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Oh my goodness Alice

What a messed up group of entitled brits abroad.
I can only hope that your life down there didn’t inspire this disturbing yet gripping tale?
I’m hooked, Thankyou

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Depressing

Nothing likeable about any of the characters, and reader very dreary. Plot not overly inspiring either but if the characters were more distinct and more interesting and more likeable the plot may have led me to read to the end. Unfortunately I gave up

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A bit different

Took a little while to pick up but then had my attention. Not keen on the American accent but it doesn’t appear much thankfully!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Starts fine but quickly loses the plot entirely….

Begins as a fairly typical narrative, setting up a crisis requiring some kind is dramatic resolution. The problem is that the story then disintegrates, with everything including the kitchen sink thrown into an an increasingly unlikely/uninteresting series of calamities. The author clearly subscribes to the more is better school. In reality it’s as interesting as listening to someone else’s nightmare. I think this is one to return unfinished. Better still, don’t buy it.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Thrilling

Lots of twists and turns, fast paced, thoroughly enjoyed it, and would highly recommend., a great read

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • CC
  • 16-05-22

Great stuff

I loved it. Five stars from the Tunbridge Wells branch of the Alice Fan Club.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!