Regular price: £14.39

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
  • Get access to the Member Daily Deal
OR
In Basket

Summary

Cupcakes, crafting and love at The Cherry Tree Cafe.... 

Lizzie Dixon's life feels as though it's fallen apart. Instead of the marriage proposal she was hoping for from her boyfriend, she is unceremoniously dumped, and her job is about to go the same way. So there's only one option: to go back home to the village she grew up in and to try to start again.  

Her best friend, Jemma, is delighted Lizzie has come back home, as she has just bought a little cafe, and Lizzie's sewing skills are just what she needs to help get it ready for the grand opening.  

With a new venture and a new home, things are looking much brighter for Lizzie. But can she get over her broken heart, and will an old flame reignite a love from long ago?  

For everyone who loves settling down to watch Great British Bake-Off and the Great British Sewing Bee or curling up to read Milly Johnson or Jenny Colgan, The Cherry Tree Cafe is a coffee-break treat.
 

©2018 Heidi Swain (P)2018 Simon & Schuster UK

Critic reviews

"A heart-warming sweet treat of a read." (Mandy Baggot)

"Fans of Jenny Colgan and Carole Matthews will enjoy this heartfelt debut novel from talented new author, Heidi Swain. The Cherry Tree Cafe is that most delicious of things - a warm and gently funny story of reinvention, romance, and second chances that you'll devour in one sitting." (Katie Oliver, author of the best-selling Marrying Mr Darcy series)

"The Cherry Tree Cafe is every bit as delicious as the cover promises. Drop in for a minute, and the fabulous world of the crafting cafe wraps itself around you, pulling you in right from the first page. Beautifully written, with a heroine I rooted for all the way, and a great supporting cast. Original and assured, and like a cup of Orange Pekoe tea - perfect to enjoy in the afternoon." (Jane Linfoot, author of The Vintage Cinema Club)

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    39
  • 4 Stars
    11
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    34
  • 4 Stars
    14
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    33
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Judges women for making choices about their own bodies

It was fine as an escapist read but certain bits had my blood boiling ”on what planet could she think that [her decision to have an abortion] was acceptable” and “ if she loved you, why did she have an abortion?” Main character was a bit whiney, but other than that it was a decent story.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Alice
  • Somerset
  • 07-08-18

Mildly entertaning

I was inspired by the ideas in this book, to the point where I had to make bunting! However the amount of sheer procrastination and secret keeping by almost all the characters seemed silly and felt like Heidi Swain's way to pad the pages out. Worth a listen if you like sewing with a cup of tea and a story in the background but not wonderfully entertaining.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Lovely book great listen

Another good book from Heidi well written and read look forward to more from her .

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

Great Book!!!

Really enjoyed the book. Got everything, love, angry, misunderstanding. Will definitely read another one oh Heidi's books.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wow a brilliant one by Heidi Swain

Another great story, made me want to download all Heidi’s books. Truly captivated into the story

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great Book

Loved this book great story complete change from my normal books would recommend 5* 😊