Listen free for 30 days

The Cherry Tree Cafe

Narrated by: Karen Cass
Length: 9 hrs and 12 mins
Categories: Romance, Contemporary
4.5 out of 5 stars (211 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Cupcakes, crafting and love at The Cherry Tree Cafe.... 

Lizzie Dixon's life feels as though it's fallen apart. Instead of the marriage proposal she was hoping for from her boyfriend, she is unceremoniously dumped, and her job is about to go the same way. So there's only one option: to go back home to the village she grew up in and to try to start again.  

Her best friend, Jemma, is delighted Lizzie has come back home, as she has just bought a little cafe, and Lizzie's sewing skills are just what she needs to help get it ready for the grand opening.  

With a new venture and a new home, things are looking much brighter for Lizzie. But can she get over her broken heart, and will an old flame reignite a love from long ago?  

For everyone who loves settling down to watch Great British Bake-Off and the Great British Sewing Bee or curling up to read Milly Johnson or Jenny Colgan, The Cherry Tree Cafe is a coffee-break treat.
 

©2018 Heidi Swain (P)2018 Simon & Schuster UK

Critic reviews

"A heart-warming sweet treat of a read." (Mandy Baggot)

"Fans of Jenny Colgan and Carole Matthews will enjoy this heartfelt debut novel from talented new author, Heidi Swain. The Cherry Tree Cafe is that most delicious of things - a warm and gently funny story of reinvention, romance, and second chances that you'll devour in one sitting." (Katie Oliver, author of the best-selling Marrying Mr Darcy series)

"The Cherry Tree Cafe is every bit as delicious as the cover promises. Drop in for a minute, and the fabulous world of the crafting cafe wraps itself around you, pulling you in right from the first page. Beautifully written, with a heroine I rooted for all the way, and a great supporting cast. Original and assured, and like a cup of Orange Pekoe tea - perfect to enjoy in the afternoon." (Jane Linfoot, author of The Vintage Cinema Club)

What listeners say about The Cherry Tree Cafe

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    143
  • 4 Stars
    41
  • 3 Stars
    18
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    3
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    136
  • 4 Stars
    43
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    119
  • 4 Stars
    40
  • 3 Stars
    18
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    3

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Very well read

The story was quite enjoyable and the idea of setting it among cakes, bunting and a cosy cafe was inviting. I just felt that the plot was slowed up by the unnecessary keeping of secrets, telling of lies and lack of ordinary common sense! It became frustrating and I nearly gave up at one point, almost shouting at the main characters to get on with it!! The story was exceptionally well read by Karen Cass.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Mildly entertaning

I was inspired by the ideas in this book, to the point where I had to make bunting! However the amount of sheer procrastination and secret keeping by almost all the characters seemed silly and felt like Heidi Swain's way to pad the pages out. Worth a listen if you like sewing with a cup of tea and a story in the background but not wonderfully entertaining.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Cherry Tree

I loved this book and Karen Is an amazing narrator. She brings the characters to life

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A really lovely read!

Just another lovely read from Heidi Swain. I seemed to have started reading them in the wrong order so now starting from the beginning. You can't help get involved with the characters and feeling their joy and pain. Can't wait for the next one!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Very good

I really love this book I like Heidi swain as a writer the story was very good

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I loved it

I loved it because how you acted out the voices & the happy ever after

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

The Cherry Tree Cafe 🌳

Yet another fabulous book from Heidi Swain, I enjoyed every moment. The characters have depth and soon become like old friends. I want more stories from The Cherry Tree Cafe, as I didn't want it to end. I love Karen Cass, she has a wonderful way of story telling.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Lovely

I’ve read or listened to all of Heidi Swains books, great series and made all the better as based around my home county. Great characters and stories 5 star a the way

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Wonderful

loved it from beginning to end , great , relateable characters , good narration, charming outcome .

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Bubble gum.

Cliched, predicable and immediately forgettable. Narrator has a nice voice but nothing else to recommend this book.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Veronica Glenn
  • Veronica Glenn
  • 01-04-20

OMG

Make up your mind already! Main character was so annoying waiting for someone to make things clear to her

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for m Gary
  • m Gary
  • 11-05-20

The weakest heroine ever

I liked the concept of the book and some of the details. However, I became so tired of the main character. Everyone treats the heroine badly yet she is constantly apologizing. Even when she is supposedly having it out with someone she is weak about it. At the end, I thought she’d finally stand up for herself, but once again she takes most of the blame on herself.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Tiffany
  • Tiffany
  • 27-10-19

I WANT TO GO TO THE CHERRY TREE CAFE!

I really enjoyed this story so much. This is a story of friendship and love and being true to one's self. It's a warm and cozy story.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for vicki
  • vicki
  • 12-03-19

The Cherry Tree Cafe

I enjoy having an interesting, light book.to.listen to.as.I drive or.do.chores. A.book that includes decorating, crafts, baking and romance is even better. Bride's books are a.great listen.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 16-01-19

Wonderful

I loved this book! The characters were wonderful and the story was so different ! I love crafting so this was especially nice! I can’t wait to read another book by Heidi! The narrator is incredible , loved her !!!