Listen free for 30 days

The Anomaly

Anomaly Files, Book 1
Narrated by: Brandon Williams
Length: 9 hrs and 41 mins
4 out of 5 stars (49 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Perfect for fans of Dan Brown, Michael Crichton and Stephen King, The Anomaly will leave you breathless until the final moment....

A team of explorers seek ancient treasures hidden in an undiscovered cave. At first it seems they will return empty-handed. Then their luck changes. But the team's elation is short-lived as they become trapped there in the dark, with little possibility of escape. Then events take an even more terrifying turn. For not all secrets are meant to be found....

©2018 Michael Rutger (P)2019 W. F. Howes Ltd

Critic reviews

"Gripping, exciting, page-turning fun. I suspect Michael Crichton would have been happy to put his name to it." (John Connolly)

What listeners say about The Anomaly

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    23
  • 4 Stars
    14
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    24
  • 4 Stars
    12
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    20
  • 4 Stars
    12
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

brilliant can't put down rollercoaster

two days took it everywhere and loved the idea of finding that supposed proof of earlier civilisation. I've always wondered why it hasn't been found since. I loved but was not expecting the magnitude of where the book went with it.. great unputdownable read.. make good movie.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Had potential

This had potential, but very poorly written and narration ever worse. Just goes to show, you can’t trust reviews.😂

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Can't believe how bad it was

The red flags were there from the beginning in the form of author trying to use every IT buzzword in existence, but the start was promising and the characters were interesting.

Sadly when the main plotline started the book took a nosedive. It reads like a bad young adult fiction, pretentious and utterly implausible.

Baffled by all the praise this book is getting.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Cracking good listen

This was a good listen, pleased there are more to be read. Kept me guessing to what the heck was going on. Enjoyed the characters, and the jobs the main people had. Nice idea. Will be adding the next book to my listen to list. Luckily I had a lot of driving to do, and blew through it in 2 days. I would have had trouble turning it off. Hoping I can pace myself a bit better on the next one!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Back to his Michael Marshall days

If you liked the Straw Men series, then this book is for you. Michael Marshall is back, under a different nom de plume, but very much his usual, jaded, erudite self. The snark of his earlier works is still here, with the slow-building dread we have come to know and love.
Can't wait to devour this new series of books from the absolute master of paranoid Gen X horror. Almost certainly due to become a short TV series soon.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

great find

This was a great find on audible. The story was fantastic and the narrator was on the money. I'm a bit concerned that the sequel has a different narrator. I hate when they do that.