Listen free for 30 days

The Abolitionist's Daughter

Narrated by: Kirsten Potter
Length: 9 hrs and 14 mins
Categories: Fiction, Historical
4 out of 5 stars (1 rating)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

On a Mississippi morning in 1859, Emily Matthews begs her father to save a slave, Nathan, about to be auctioned away from his family. Judge Matthews is an abolitionist who runs an illegal school for his slaves, hoping to eventually set them free. One, a woman named Ginny, has become Emily's companion and often her conscience - and understands all too well the hazards an educated slave must face. Yet even Ginny could not predict the tangled, tragic string of events set in motion as Nathan's family arrives at the Matthews farm.  

A young doctor, Charles Slate, tends to injured Nathan and begins to court Emily, finally persuading her to become his wife. But their union is disrupted by a fatal clash and a lie that will tear two families apart. As Civil War erupts, Emily, Ginny, and Emily's stoic mother-in-law, Adeline, each face devastating losses. Emily - sheltered all her life - is especially unprepared for the hardships to come. Struggling to survive in this raw, shifting new world, Emily will discover untapped inner strength, an unlikely love, and the courage to confront deep, painful truths. 

In the tradition of Cold Mountain, The Abolitionist's Daughter eschews stereotypes of the Civil War South, instead weaving an intricate and unforgettable story of survival, loyalty, hope, and redemption.

©2019 Diane C. McPhail (P)2019 HighBridge, a division of Recorded Books

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Linda
  • Linda
  • 12-07-19

Beautiful writing. Great detail.

I am a fan of historical fiction, and this is now high on my list of favorites. The writing was beautiful, precise, and authentic. I was totally engaged and deeply moved by the story.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for kathy
  • kathy
  • 14-05-19

An incredible book, The Abolitionist’s Daughter...

This book takes the reader through the full spectrum of most all emotions ... joy, sadness, hope, despair, delight, horror, judgment, forgiveness, and so many more... There is such a need for the storyline in this book in light of the Times we are now living in .... you won’t regret buying this book... I found myself getting so connected to the characters in it.... The Abolitionist’s Daughter is remarkable and is very difficult to put down .... I highly recommend this very Timely book !!!