Listen free for 30 days

Spoken Ink Poetry: Rough Music

Narrated by: Fiona Sampson
Length: 40 mins

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime


Rough Music is the old English name for a custom of public scapegoating. This is a collection full of disturbing musical echoes, in which brilliant renewals of carol, charm, folksong, and ballad explore themes of violence, loss, and belonging. Fiona Sampson's characteristic lyric intensity deftly fuses metaphysics and politics with the vernacular of daily life.

Fiona Sampson has published 15 books, including works of poetry, volumes on the philosophy of language and on the writing process. Her poetry has been published and broadcast in more than 30 languages.

Rough Music was shortlisted for both the T.S. Eliot Prize and the Forward Prize 2010 for best collection.

The print edition of Rough Music is published by Carcanet Press

©2010 Fiona Sampson (P)2013 Spoken Ink

More from the same

What members say

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.