Listen free for 30 days

Somewhere Close to Happy

By: Lia Louis
Narrated by: Candida Gubbins
Length: 10 hrs and 59 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (9 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

A laugh-out-loud funny yet heartbreaking novel about first love and second chances, with a satisfying mystery at its heart.  

Lizzie James is happy. She has a steady office job (with a steady stream of tray bakes), has had the same best friend since secondary school, and sees her family every Thursday night for take-away and TV soaps. Granted, some members of her family she'd rather not see, and they definitely don't want to see her after what happened back then...but on the whole she's happy. Or somewhere close to it, anyway.   

Until a letter arrives one day from her best friend, Roman. A letter dated 12 years ago, the exact day he went missing.   

It brings all her painful memories flooding back: the new school she had to go to when she was ill, losing her beloved granddad, Hubble, and then losing her first love. As Lizzie uncovers the secrets of the letter, she starts to discover what really happened the year her life fell apart - and all avenues lead back to Roman. Who sent her the letter, and what happened to Roman?  

Perfect for fans of Cecelia Ahern, Jojo Moyes, Giovanna Fletcher and Kate Eberlen's Miss You. This is a novel you won't soon forget. 

©2019 Lia Louis (P)2019 Orion Publishing Group

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant...

I loved everything about this story,
Can’t wait for more from this author
Also one of the best narrators I’ve heard
X

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

An amazing rollercoaster of a story

This was such an enjoyable listen. It kept me invested from start to finish and Lias writing is funny witty and moving all at the same time