Listen free for 30 days

Sometimes I Lie

Narrated by: Stephanie Racine
Length: 9 hrs and 40 mins
4 out of 5 stars (2,776 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

My name is Amber Reynolds. There are three things you should know about me. 

1. I'm in a coma.
2. My husband doesn't love me anymore.
3. Sometimes I lie. 

Unnerving, twisted and utterly compelling, you won't be able to put this new thriller down. Set to be the most talked about book in 2017, it's perfect for fans of Behind Closed Doors, The Girl on the Train and The Widow.

Includes a preview of Alice Feeney’s lastest novel, I Know Who You Are.

©2017 Alice Feeney (P)2017 HarperCollins Publishers

Critic reviews

"A gripping debut with a brilliant twist, I loved it." (BA Paris, author of Behind Closed Doors)

"For fans of twisty, dark thrillers, this is the one. Fabulously written voices and a plot that keeps you guessing until the very end." (Kate Hamer, author of The Girl in the Red Coat)  

"Boldly plotted, tightly knotted - a provocative true-or-false thriller that deepens and darkens to its ink-black finale. Marvellous." (AJ Finn, author of The Woman in the Window)   

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1,372
  • 4 Stars
    846
  • 3 Stars
    381
  • 2 Stars
    109
  • 1 Stars
    68

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1,586
  • 4 Stars
    642
  • 3 Stars
    243
  • 2 Stars
    51
  • 1 Stars
    36

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1,228
  • 4 Stars
    748
  • 3 Stars
    377
  • 2 Stars
    123
  • 1 Stars
    83

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Utter nonsense

I started this book with great expectations, based on the reader reviews. How disappointed I was. The story is completely confusing and utterly ridiculous. Makes no sense, so complex that it gives me a headache just thinking about it. The ending was dreadful and left me frustrated and even more confused. The narration was poor, so quiet in places I could hardly hear it and the singing?! What was that all about? And why was it necessary? Painful and stupid. I just hated it. Ten hours of my life I will never get back.

66 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

not keen

a little all over the place. I wasn't very keen at all. wanted.to enjoy it. nevermind

23 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Gripping

It held my interest from being to end and easy to follow. Definitely worth a listen.

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A must read/listen

OMG amazing twists and turns, I couldn't stop listening. So very clever, as each clue was revealed I was drawn into the story. Congratulations to Alice Feeney.

26 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Upsetting

The entire book was pretty unpleasant to listen to, but I imagine it was meant to, so good job on that. The performance included very loud dialogue combined with soft whisper like narration, which I get for dramatic effect but was inconvenient for listening purposes. Very plot twisty book, which encouraged readers to never have a human interaction ever again. So that's cool.

25 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Perfect thriller !

Loved this.....all the obligatory twists and turns to keep the reader interested. Will not disappoint.

29 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Too many twists

A couple of twists in a story is great, when you've got several it becomes confusing and unsatisfying. The last one is one too far and left me feeling very disappointed in the whole story. I can't believe anyone actually understands the ending, even the author!

13 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Bit too contrived but worth a listen.

This kept me involved all the way through. I found it a bit 'how to construct a thriller'- contrived, if that makes sense. A little too many twists for my liking. However, it does the job and a good listen on a long car journey. The narrator was very good.

19 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • ms
  • 16-04-17

Struggled in parts with the darkness

Found the story a bit confusing and was glad when the end was reached... had I been aware that it was so much about mental illness I would have avoided it altogether. However, I did get to the end which says a lot for the writing and the Narrator is really good ..

18 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

WOW

This book is well written,and brilliantly read. You can never predict how this book is going to end ,it's compelling I couldn't stop listening. Highly recommend

24 people found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anat G
  • Anat G
  • 05-12-17

What a mess!

Not a big fan of “then” and “now” novels. Too many time/space jumps. Overall a big mess, could have ended better.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Tomer Atias
  • Tomer Atias
  • 05-03-19

<br />

I really loved the book. the narrator is doing great job telling the story. really recommended!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ita
  • Ita
  • 04-07-18

What happened at the end?

Just as I thought I had all the 'character' unscrambled the author mixes it all up again