Listen free for 30 days

Shattered Sword (A LitRPG Adventure)

Eternal Online, Book 1
Narrated by: Andrea Parsneau
Length: 13 hrs and 19 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (49 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

A broke gamer. A deadly online world. Can Dhalia level up fast enough to keep the debt collectors at bay?

Dhalia has to pay off her dead father’s bills or risk her life in the lithium mines. Which...no thank you. Besides, the world is run by tech, and this gamer girl is determined to explore the virtual world her father was so obsessed with and get rich while she’s at it.

So, she sells everything and rents a premium VR pod to play Eternal Online.

Enter the toughest realm available? Check.

Discover the fastest way to loot without dying...in progress.

But when Dhalia finds an epic quest chain that others have overlooked, she thinks she’s struck gold. What she doesn’t expect is to make friends with two deadly warriors and one powerful creature, or find a world boss gunning for them all.

Experience the start of an Epic LitRPG adventure perfect for fans of Travis Bagwell, Carrie Summers, and Outspan Foster.

©2020 Aethon Books (P)2020 Aethon Audio

What listeners say about Shattered Sword (A LitRPG Adventure)

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    34
  • 4 Stars
    9
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    38
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    31
  • 4 Stars
    11
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant Adventure!

T J Reynolds has created a world full of intrigue and excitement with Dahlia’s Shattered Sword tale, I’m not going to ruin it for you, but if you love adventure and LitRPG? Yeah you’re going to love this book!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

a nice surprise

this book and audible was amazing. the narrator can put on lots of voices,she's pretty good at Scottish but Irish I'm sure n 2 minds over I think since I am Irish it's not how we sound but it's how the world thinks we sound like which is fine. the story is nice and well paced and will connect with people who don't even play games.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

love this

So first when will the next book be in ?
Love the story and all characters and the performances is spot on all voices of the characters are for me just amazing and added a spark to them .
I would personally not charge anything to the story since is perfect just the way it is 😍 .
I recommend this book 100% 😊😉

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Best LitRPG since The Land

A true diamond in the rough. I haven’t been this engaged by a story in months.

I don’t know if it was the amazing performance of the narrator or the tantalising story, but I couldn’t get enough of this fantastic world.

A new take on the classic coming of age story that sucked me in and gripped me to the end. I felt like a ran beside the main character as she battled her way through an engaging and rich new world. But I still feel I haven’t seen the first scratch of EO. I laughed, cried and shouted with rage along the main character, as she struggles through what’s seems to be just the noob zone. I can’t help but root for her.

I actually cannot wait for the next title. TJ Reynolds now joins Alexey Osadchuk, Aleron Kong and Vasily Mahanenko as my favourite Authors of LitRPG novels.

Great job. Really great. Thank you TJ and Andrea

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

enjoyable

A nice start to the serise, decent characters and good world building, it's very interesting and well written.
the narration is really good and deffinatly brings the story to life.
Well worth checking out

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Great performance, generic LitRPG

No spoiler review.

I picked up this book because I listened to the narrator before. The performance was good. The previous book (Wandering Inn) was slightly better in terms of narration, but I don't think the difference is enough to make me rate this 4 instead of 5 stars.

The story however was quite lackluster in my opinion. I have read several LitRPGs before and this hasn't offered me anything new.
Without spoiling the story too much, can sum it up with underdog getting incredibly lucky with a few inconsequential setback and winning where has no place to even be.

Skip, unless you have nothing else to listen to.


  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

What a Story loved it!!!

I can I have truly enjoyed this book its on my top 50 bur not near the top. support the writers. It's lit rpg like the Game bits the outside needs something more...

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

An interesting start

I recieved a review copy of this book. The story is well written and the narration is excellent. The main character is relatable and interesting, whilst the combination of the real and game worlds create a unique experience.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

If you a fan of Edens gate, or the land THIS IS A MUST FOR YOU

brilliant story well crafted characters who you fall in awe of from the get go .

The performance from Parsneau is second to none

In short buy this book you will not be disappointed

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 03-04-20

Incredible story. Perfect performance.

I am in love with everything TJ Reynolds writes! This story is nooo different. It's witty, fast-paced, hilarious. We have a female MC who's brave from the start, and only gets bolder as the book goes on. Even when shit hits the fan, even in a RPG realm where pain is real and death looms everywhere, she's optimistic and always willing to crack a joke or squeal over something ridiculous (looking at you, broccoli).

I am in love with Hana's band of unlikely friends, too. In some books, side characters can appear interchangeable. Not this one. Every character is a breath of fresh air, and Andrea does an incredible job bringing them to life. The adventure they find themselves on makes them stronger, brings them together, and reveals a larger, more sinister plot that I can't wait to finish. I need the next book ASAP.

11 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 02-04-20

Dynamic Character and Compelling Story

What isn't to love. Great story, built around characters who are easy to relate to and fun to see in action. Add to that the marvelous narration by the peerless Andrea Parsneau and this is a must listen.

Definitely will be looking out for more from this author and can't wait for book 2.

9 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ally O
  • Ally O
  • 04-04-20

Not my normal type of book but...

Loved it. Narration was spot on for what I was visualizing. Very engrossing story. I felt like i was there.

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Walter
  • Walter
  • 07-04-20

One Down

Great start, can't wait to read more. Loved the characters, the story, and the narrator.

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jen
  • Jen
  • 04-04-20

Really good

I've been really enjoying this story and the narration is top notch!! the characters are very relatable. give it a try if you like vrmmo litrpgs

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Willis Burns
  • Willis Burns
  • 03-04-20

Excited for new!

LitRPG is such a growing and diverse market and this one brings some of the best in storytelling and narration. Parsneau remains one of my favorite narrators, and Mr/Ms. Reynolds proves to be something fresh in a sometimes stagnant genre!

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jimmi
  • Jimmi
  • 03-04-20

found it kinda wierd and airheaded

it's good tho, and MC is female so you dont get too much tit glaring. but the MC started to play couse she have a huge debt, and i think it's wierd she stays so much in town eating dinner at npc's houses, the starting zone and dont rly focus on the time limit looming over her. also alot of anxiety and feeling sorry for herself and all the npc's.
wish Andrea could have done something else with the rats aswell.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Zeadman
  • Zeadman
  • 03-04-20

Amazing!

Excellent story and amazing narration! If you like litrpg or gamelit give this a shot!

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Andrew
  • Andrew
  • 03-04-20

Well written LitRPG

The characters were realistic and the story was compelling. I am looking forward to the next one.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Nick
  • Nick
  • 16-05-20

best voice actor ever.

give it a try, I really enjoyed it. the book is brought to life by the voice by A.P. as always.

3 people found this helpful