Listen free for 30 days

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Surely we all lie a little bit online...don't we? 

The gripping psychological thriller that explores the darker side of social media, perfect for fans of The Girl Before and Friend Request

Have you ever wanted to reinvent yourself? Have you ever lied about who you are to get more likes? Have you ever followed someone online who you think is perfect? Meet Holly. Social media sensation. The face of clean eating. Everyone loves her. Everyone wants to be her. 

But when Holly is attacked by a man she's only just met, her life starts to spiral out of control. He seemed to know her - but she doesn't know him. What if Holly isn't who she seems to be? What if Holly's living a lie?

©2017 Amy Heydenrych (P)2020 Audible, Ltd

Critic reviews

"Dark, original and thoroughly gripping." (T. M. Logan, author of The Holiday)

"The dark heart of obsession is laid bare for the whole world to see in this terrifying debut novel." (J. S. Carol)

What listeners say about Shame on You

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    23
  • 4 Stars
    16
  • 3 Stars
    13
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    2
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    33
  • 4 Stars
    12
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    17
  • 4 Stars
    15
  • 3 Stars
    12
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    3

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Holly has the perfect online life

Holly has the perfect online life with 1000s of followers but what happens when a follower thinks its real?!


With out giving away any secrets to the story I found this audio good to listen to and it did grip me. It's basically about someone who dies from following Holly's health posts and then Holly is attacked.
This story followers her finding out why she was attacked before it's to late. I feel like the book could of been a little more fast in some parts, the twist at the end is slightly predictable but is lift on a slight cliff hanger but I feel its obvious what happens after it as you get to know the character very well and what they crave so I couldn't see another book following on from this.

The narrator is actually really good and will be looking for books with her voice in the future. It is a lot like the book 'friend request' but would say this one is better.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Not for me

I found the two main characters thoroughly unlikable. I must have misread the book details or I wouldn’t have chosen it as I’m entirely uninterested in the premise the story is built around.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Not great

I didn't manage to get even halfway. The writing style is pretty sophomoric. The present-tense format somehow fails to make the events immediate and the first person observations are shallow and vaccuous.

The narration is fine and well paced, though her attempts at a male voice are kind of comical, especially when she's supposed to be voicing a handsome, mysterious stranger and she sounds like a teenager doing an impression of her dad.

Didn't get on with it at all.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Don't waste your time.

Sheesh, what a complete waste of my hours.
No likeable characters, lacks interesting twists and turns. Wouldn't categorize is as a 'thriller'...very drawn out and eyerollingly frustrating.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Excellent, except the end

I had become so disillusioned with "psychological thrillers" and started this book expecting an angst ridden wimpy protagonist making stupid decisions. So was delighted there was none of that nonsense in this book! I couldn't put this one down.
The main character is a deeply flawed woman portrayed in a very credible and relatable way. Despite her flaws and mistakes, I quite liked her and cared what happened to her. Excellent job author!
But oh the ending - I hated it. All that investment in Holly's twisted journey blinked away in a paragraph. Noooooo! I've been cheated! Dropped a star for that reason, but did thoroughly enjoy this dark twisted tale.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

worth a listen

Really enjoyed this book. was a bit skeptical about it at the start but ended up gripped by the twist and turns. very well written to show the impact of social.media and mental health and how the both can effect each other.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I really enjoyed this , brilliant narrator

Really enjoyed this book didn’t think I would having reading the reviews but I took a chance and it paid off , really relates to how young women are obsessed with social media and looks now , the narrator was absolutely top notch the best so far

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

A good listen

I enjoyed this book, it brought up some really interested and relevant issues, it was just missing something to make it a book I was desperate to finish

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Not the worst read/listen

It actually started off ok, but for first time I ended up skipping last few chapters to get to end...