Listen free for 30 days

Scorched Earth

The 7th DS McAvoy Novel
Narrated by: Toby Longworth
Series: DS Aector McAvoy, Book 7
Length: 8 hrs and 27 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (54 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Detective McAvoy investigates a murder and a missing person case in this dark and compelling thriller, for fans of Stuart MacBride and Peter May.

The police think Crystal Heathers isn't missing. The trainee detective assigned to the case isn't so sure. McAvoy thinks someone was being held at the derelict building where they just found a body pinned to the wall...and that all the signs point to it being a little girl. But why would anyone not report a kidnapping? And how far would someone go to get revenge?

The case will test McAvoy to breaking point - as the crimes of the present lead him to a final violent confrontation with an enemy from his own past.

©2018 Dead Pretty Ltd (P)2017 Hodder & Stoughton

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    42
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    44
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    37
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent

Well narrated. Good story. Kept you gripped from the off. Brings another side to what humanity is capable of.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Aector McAvoy, Hull’s Harry Hole

I’ve enjoyed the whole series so far, great characters, and brilliant performances by Toby Longworth.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Scorched Earth

Found this book very confusing, had to keep winding back to understand the audible story xx

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars

Not for the faint hearted

Lots of action and could but it has a strong storyline and enough twists and turns to keep you interested until the end

1 of 2 people found this review helpful