Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £21.99

Buy Now for £21.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

Detective McAvoy investigates a murder and a missing person case in this dark and compelling thriller, for fans of Stuart MacBride and Peter May.

The police think Crystal Heathers isn't missing. The trainee detective assigned to the case isn't so sure. McAvoy thinks someone was being held at the derelict building where they just found a body pinned to the wall...and that all the signs point to it being a little girl. But why would anyone not report a kidnapping? And how far would someone go to get revenge?

The case will test McAvoy to breaking point - as the crimes of the present lead him to a final violent confrontation with an enemy from his own past.

©2018 Dead Pretty Ltd (P)2017 Hodder & Stoughton

What listeners say about Scorched Earth

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    65
  • 4 Stars
    12
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    67
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    57
  • 4 Stars
    12
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent

Well narrated. Good story. Kept you gripped from the off. Brings another side to what humanity is capable of.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Aector McAvoy, Hull’s Harry Hole

I’ve enjoyed the whole series so far, great characters, and brilliant performances by Toby Longworth.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Scorched Earth

Found this book very confusing, had to keep winding back to understand the audible story xx

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars

Not for the faint hearted

Lots of action and could but it has a strong storyline and enough twists and turns to keep you interested until the end

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Best one yet!

Out of all the books in the series so far, this has to be my favourite to date! As usual the narration is superb and richly versatile. A pacey story line, into which was woven the tying up of loose ends from earlier in the series, in a hugely satisfying way. The final showdown had me cheering encouragement from the side lines for an assortment of characters - heros and villains alike!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Love this whole series!

Book 7 in the Detective McAvoy series.

Someone is not telling the truth. The mother of a stable hand is worried about her daughter who she thinks is missing.

A retired police officer sees suspicious goings on in a derelict manor house.

McAvoy investigates both as they lead to a very unexpected finale. How far would someone go to get revenge?

Love the books and the narration.