Listen free for 30 days

Queenslayer

Spellslinger, Book 5
Narrated by: Joe Jameson
Series: Spellslinger, Book 5
Length: 13 hrs and 4 mins
4.7 out of 5 stars (96 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

The fifth book in the captivating Spellslinger fantasy series. 

Kellen and Reichis have just finished fighting a duel in the desert when Kellen inadvertently smears blood on the Daroman flag - an act of treason for which the Marshals have no choice but to arrest him. Just before he's put before the Queen to be executed, Kellen is given a strange piece of advice from one of his fellow prisoners: kill the Queen and he'll be given clemency by those who take power. But when Kellen comes face-to-face with the 11-year-old monarch, he realises she's vastly smarter than he expected - and in a great deal more danger. 

Perfect for fans of The Dark Tower, Firefly, Guardians of the Galaxy, Terry Pratchett, Ben Aaronovitch and Jim Butcher.

©2019 Sebastien de Castell (P)2019 Bonnier Books UK

What listeners say about Queenslayer

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    69
  • 4 Stars
    23
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    77
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    64
  • 4 Stars
    19
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

excellent

loved it... great next in the series and continues to keep the story flowering as well as ever. love the narration

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Getting old

I love this author, amazing characters and worlds. But every one has the same process of progression. Kel is whiney and cowardly, is forced not to be. It's fine for a few books but now we're 5 in and it just feels forced. How many times is he going to let some dude character die before finding his courage? Even his powers are the same as in the first book. He used no cards, no coins, the spirit is gone. Same with characters, other that the sister everyone has left, so it's hard to care about the fate of some random nation. The whole plot felt more like an interlude. I hope he doesn't regress again in the next part because for the most part I do love these books. Also, I swear the old jantep queen understood squirrel cat? Maybe I'm misremembering

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Another great edition! Mostly.

Another great edition to the series, very well written and performed, I just didn't like the extra politics as much. Still good but preferred the other books thus far. Worth a read/listen!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

wonderful

A fab story but the narrator is so truely talented. Just as good as the first and second books.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent story and brilliant narration

Loved this book. If you enjoyed his Greatcoat series you'll love this one too. Kellen is a likeable anti hero and his squirrel cat business partner provides just enough light relief. Highly recommended

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Better and better

I love how the series has grown darker as it goes along yet still manages to make me laugh out loud! I love Rykis!! Everything about this book is 5 star worthy! I just hope we don’t have to wait too long for the next book.