Listen free for 30 days

Poison

Narrated by: Annie Aldington
Length: 9 hrs and 7 mins
4.3 out of 5 stars (42 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

The heart-racing new gangland thriller from best-selling author Jacqui Rose. Perfect for fans of Kimberley Chambers’ The Sting and Martina Cole.

There are some people you should never cross.

In a life of crime, loyalty means everything - even if you don’t always see eye to eye. But when Vaughn Sadler speaks up to get Franny Doyle sent down, he’s broken every rule in the book to win checkmate.

And others you shouldn’t underestimate....

Holed up in prison, Franny has more than one score to settle - but she’s starting with Vaughn. Because you don’t grass on your own, no matter what. And though she may be behind bars, she will get revenge - whatever the cost.

Before, there was just bad blood running through her veins. But now, there is poison....

©2019 Jacqui Rose (P)2019 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

Critic reviews

"Gritty and gripping - by a star in the making." (Kimberley Chambers)

"A thrilling and gripping novel." (Roberta Kray)

"A cracking good read." (Jessie Keane)

What listeners say about Poison

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    27
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    2
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    29
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    22
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Read/listen to the previous 2 books

Brilliant book that had me glued to my phone listening on Audible. As always Annie Aldington is amazing and I don’t think any other narrator would have done it as much justice as she did. Highly recommend read but I feel it’s important that you listed to or read at least the previous 2 books before this one so you get the full plot.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

Well. Worth a read

Gritty and emotional cant wait to read next book great. Narration as usual from Annie Aldington bringing the whole book to life

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Ridiculous storyline

Love Annie Aldington & as always she didn’t disappoint but the storyline is just utterly ridiculous, persevered to chapter 26 but after the accidental running over & uncle Charlie being welcomed back to hide in the flat rather than just getting him to leave was all to much. Gutted a wasted my credit on this.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Another winner

The series so far has been great, the ending obviously leaves the door open for another. Once again Annie Aldington give a superb performance bringing the characters to life.

1 person found this helpful